We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my idea of a Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'm told this is the best hotel in Algiers. This is sure to be a worrying statement for anyone planning to stay in any of the others!
This hotel really does not conform to what I would expect of a Sofitel (except in terms of price) and, if I were in charge of that chain, I would either remove the Sofitel name or initiate an immediate and dramatic improvement plan to bring it into line with what the Sofitel brand is supposed to represent. Following my experience here, I will simply never again assume that, because the name on the reservation says "Sofitel" I can be assured of a high level of quality and service.
It has it's good points - the main hall and reception area is impressive. However...
The bedrooms are 2 star at best. I actually experienced two - I was moved from the first after I complained about the aircon noise (not from mine, which was switched off, but from generators or something in the roof space).
In both cases, similar observations: cheap, white melamine cupboard interiors that were chipped and water-stained, damaged furniture including wobbly bedside tables with legs hanging off, plug sockets falling out of the plastic circuits that are stuck on the walls, IKEA-style TV housing units, mould around the aircon grilles, dowdy wallpaper (heavily marked), chipped bathroom tiles, cracked shaving mirror, dirty net curtains. I think the second room was an upgrade - it had a terrace (filthy: not swept for several weeks). The room also had a musty smell. I didn't bother too much at first (having been relocated from my first room in my pyjamas, I simply wanted to sleep), but the following morning I realised that it was a result of a large part of the carpeting being soaking wet - my guess, rain run-off from my terrace.
To sum up, the bedrooms are cheaply furnished and neglected.
I was there for a meeting. The meeting rooms are ok, the staff who service them less so. We didn't have big demands, but did need a functioning light box. The one in the room cut out if not used for a few minutes. Not a problem normally, except that the meeting room support staff refused to leave us the remote control. Every time we wanted to re-start the machine, we needed to find this person, who proved to be extremely elusive, always taking several calls and reminders to the reception staff to track down. Empty coffee cups were not replaced at breaks, nor water, etc. In other words, we got the room, but were on our own from then on.
Overall, I would not recommend it for either a meeting or a stay!

Room Tip: I don't think there is any advice to give on this. I would avoid the 8th floor, to get way from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your points and remarks, as it allows us to improve the quality of services that we offer to our customers.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your experience does not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team.

If there is something I can do to make your future stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 875 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sofitel algiers is a good place to stay ! Very nice lobby with bar & band in the evening. large rooms, clean and a very comfortable bed...
The staff is very helpfull...and will make your stay most enjoyable !

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

i stayed there a few months ago, now i wanted to go back.
I sended 3 e-mails before i made my reservation, to make some things clear.

For a 5* hotel you would expect that they would answer, never i received an answer, for my this is a very bad service for a hotel who pretends to be the best in Algiers

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank didi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc l, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear guest,
I thank you for sharing your concern with us.
I would like to confirm that we do have a dedicated reservation center at the hotel, which can be reached over the phone or directly through the email address h1540-re@sofitel.com.
I am interested to better understand how this situation happened. In order to get more details, you can reach me directly at the following email address: luc.lamorille@sofitel.com.
I once again apologize for this inconvenience and I remain at your disposal for further information.
I look forward to your upcoming stay at Sofitel Algiers, with best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Sofitel in Algiers and I must say it was a poor experience over the 1st visit. I arrived on a 2 day business visit and was checked into my room. The A/C in the room was not working and I made several complaints before I was shifted into another room at 11pm at night. Again the A/C in the new room was not working and I had to complain. The technician was called in and he confirmed it was not working and that he had "fixed" it now. Needless to say nothing was done. I made a 3rd complaint in the morning before leaving for work and asked to fix the issue before I returned in the evening. Again nothing was done by the evening. Finally I had to call for the on duty manager and complained to her of my problem. I was made to change rooms again (3rd time in a 2 day trip) and was upgraded to an executive suite where the A/C was finally working.

I was very surprised that this was the sort of problem I faced in a 5 star hotel. The stay left a very poor impression of the hotel. The staff did not understand the challenges. Twice the front desk just transferred my call to another department while I was still explaining them the problem. Just re-direct my call while I was speaking... very rude I thought.

I dont think there is a lot of other better choices in Algiers and hence they are still doing good business. I would say strictly average.

Room Tip: Only recommend staying on the executive floor (4th I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

At first I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at SOFITEL Algiers Hamma Garden.

Any comments from you is appreciated, as it allows us to improve the quality of services that we offer to our guests.
I have noted your comments with great interest and we are all sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations.
I would like to apologize personally for all that you have felt during your stay, and for failing to answer your legitimate expectations.

Be assured that the information has been shared with our teams, so that this experience does not happen again.

Indeed, the quality of service and comfort that we are committed to providing our guests every day should be perfect, and we will consider all feed back to correct the issues that you have mentioned, and make the corrections and adjustments.
We are constantly working on improving our services and once again we apologize for the disappointments.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel.

I remain at your entire disposal, and please accept the expression of my highest consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pool was open for everyone else than those who didn’t stayed in hotel. Its pool was so filthy, bad smelling and not maintained properly. Service was poor, incredibly expensive. Lobby smelt like that of raw sewage. Wasn’t good for me I didn’t found it appropriate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthanT274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post an answer at Tripadvisor following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and points; we will certainly share them with our team.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur.

If there is something I can do to make your future stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed 3 nights in this hotel during a business trip and it was excellent. It was my second stay in this hotel and the quality was just exceptional.
The rooms are big enough and extremely clean.
The service was at a world class level.
The food is just good enough and not exceptional.
However, the location is not the best and there is not much things to see around.
If you are going to Algiers for a business trip, I recommend this hotel as one of the best.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjeridiAndProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013
Google Translation

Cher Hôte,

Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de poster une répondre, suite à votre séjour au Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour nous tous qui travaillons jour après jour pour rendre votre séjour agréable.

C’est toujours un réel plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre établissement.

Merci encore une fois pour vos réponses.

Mes sincères salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The room I stayed in will need a renovation in the next two years, it was not as new and shiny as I have become accustomed to in other Sofitel hotels in North Africa. Wifi speed was good, bed quality very good. Breakfast and buffet dinner: 7 out of 10. I had the impression that a lot of the dinner buffet was recycled into the breakfast buffet. Nice pool and spa. Overall a good hotel but the Hilton in Algiers is better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bashi_Mwepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your stay at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

I am Sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and please accept our most sincere apologies.
Sofitel hotels are willing to offer you the best quality service for your stays, and therefore your opinion is very valuable.

thank you again for your comments and hope to regain your confidence during your next stay.

I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Algiers hotels
1.4 mi away
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
#2 of 27 in Algiers
25 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#3 of 27 in Algiers
443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#4 of 27 in Algiers
63 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#8 of 27 in Algiers
89 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#15 of 27 in Algiers
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: $164 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing