We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”
Review of Fillenwarth Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arnolds Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fillenwarth Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
waterloo iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I stayed in a "16" person room over the weekend for a wedding. There were only 10 of us that stayed there and it was extremely cramped. We did not have hot water the whole time we stayed there. When I went to check out and told them of this problem, the owner told me that "I didn't know how to work the shower." I asked him and another owner to come to the room so I could show them what we had wrong. They said no and sent the maintenance guy and he was in the mechanical room for 7-10 minutes. When he came to our room both showers worked perfectly???!!!!! So I went back to the office and they said nothing was wrong and it was our fault we did not know how to work a shower. I have never been so disrespected in my life and want everyone to know what a dishonest bunch of people are running the place. Stay someplace else and use the hundreds of extra dollars you saved on some of the fun stuff to do in Okoboji!!!!! Worst service ever!!!!!!

  • Liked — Not Being there
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank kdizzleWaterlooIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2004

We stayed at Fillenwarth in August 2003. We were extremely disappointed with the rooms. The carpet and bedspreads looked as if they had not been updated in 50 years. The three rooms we rented all smelled of mold. The bathrooms were barely functional with slow draining tubs, toilets that did not flush properly, and ripped ghastly linoleum on the floor. The community facilities; waterskiing, cruises are commendable but unfortunately do not come al la carte separate from the rooms. Honestly, I can't believe that this place is still in business if all the rooms are as bad as the three that we rented.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2004

Fillenwarth Beach is unlike any other vacation spot. It's like attending a family reunion. We have gone the same week for the past 16 years. Now our kids are getting married and plan to some day bring their kids. Don't try this unless you plan to make it a tradition for many years to come!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2004

If you are from Kansas this beats the Lake of the Ozarks by a long shot, Fillenwarth Beach is the best place to stay by far. The location is great as it is within walking distance of the Emporium and Arnolds Park, which is a can't miss stop while there. It is also within walking distance of many nice night hot spots. Everything is included in your rate, water skiing, activities, cruises, everything is there, it is awesome dude. Definatley a place for a family get away. Most accomidations are up to date yet some are not very roomy. Its also a wonderful place to be for the fourth of July. There is a group of us that has been going up there the same week every year for almost forty years and we get together every year, it is just that special.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2004

great place. we have been coming here for the past 3 years. There is an abundance of things for the kids to do. The boat rides are wonderful.
plenty of parking. The rooms are nice with plenty of room and fantastic views of the lake. The sunsets over the lake are breathtaking. I would recommend this resort to anyone---kc

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2002

This is a one of a kind vacation spot. Most families come back the same week every year. Cocktail cruises, get acquainted party, kids activities, a beautiful lake. It's not fancy, but it's the best place to have fun and relax!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnolds Park
1.5 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Bridges Bay Resort
Bridges Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Arnolds Park
208 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fillenwarth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fillenwarth Beach

Property: Fillenwarth Beach
Address: 87 Lakeshore Dr, PO Box 536, Arnolds Park, IA 51331-7743
Location: United States > Iowa > Arnolds Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated summer resort on West Lake Okoboji, in Arnolds Park, Okoboji's entertainment center. Our 96 units are lakeside or nearby with lake access and are fully furnished apartments, studios and cottages for one to 18 people. All amenities are free including boat rides, indoor and outdoor pools, large sunning docks and in-season recreation program. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fillenwarth Beach Hotel Arnolds Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing