We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in the Lakes Area - Expensive”

Maxwells Beach Cafe
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Arnolds Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Meal in the Lakes Area - Expensive”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We haven't tried Maxwells in several years because our children were young, and we felt that spending the money to eat there probably wasn't worth it. This year, we tried it again with our teenage children and loved every minute of it. We chose to eat inside, which tends to be more upscale than the outside patio dining. From the appetizers through the main course to dessert, we couldn't have been more impressed. The seafood (in Iowa!) was delicious, and the steaks were cooked perfectly. While it is not something most folks can afford to do every night, it is definitely worth the splurge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iloveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brazil
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Honest Food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food is tasty and the service is good . The kids' menu is nice and varied. The service is friendly and prompt.

The restaurant is well located on the waterfront , near the amusement park and tour boats. It is a lively place and the restaurant fits in well. It is a good option for lunch ( and dinner)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great view & service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had great service, but the food was average. My daughter ordered the mac-n-cheese, which was the best meal in our family of 4. If you sit on the patio, there is a limited menu. We felt totally comfortable in swimsuits & cover-ups. You can't beat the view & people watching and the service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we went back the very next night!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our meals so much we went back the very next night. We ordered different things on the menu and tasted each others. All 4 meals were very good. We will be back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cold $35 steak and owner thought it was acceptable to reheat after waiter put his finger on my steak to confirm how cold it wa”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A very terrible experience with a cold $35 steak with reheating it after the waiter confirmed it was cold by putting his finger on it. Then I went to the owner and he thought that was acceptable. What a disgrace.
Rather eat at a fast food joint than here again
Poor excuse for customer service
Don't know what else they do in the kitchen if the owner thinks like this
Stay away

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rko5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maxwells Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing