We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect except for front desk check-out lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
716 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
“Almost perfect except for front desk check-out lady”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We liked this Holiday Inn Express. It was extremely clean & everything about it was wonderful except.....the heating unit in our room was broken. It came on for 30 seconds and shut off for 2 minutes ALL night long which resulted in little sleep. When I informed the front desk, the lady made no compensation for it other than saying "It shouldn't have done that. The unit needs to be reset which you can do from the room" - that would be nice IF I knew how to reset a hotel heating/AC unit. The front desk lady had no visible name tag but had long blond/brown hair pulled up in a bun & was wearing glasses. Because of her lack of kindness, we almost didn't stay here on our return trip but we did. The check in guy was very nice, we requested a different room number and that room was perfect with a working heating unit. However, in the morning I needed a complimentary toothbrush & toothpaste, I went to the front desk but no one was there. I shouted Hello and the same check-out lady from the week before came out from a side room. I asked her nicely for a toothbrush and toothpaste which she acted annoyed to have to get from under the counter. Even at check out she wasn't friendly. Once again - no name tag. This is an ideal hotel - if only the check out lady could be trained to be nice. The location of the hotel is tricky to get to but once you figure it out, it's fine. The pool was a bit cold but the hot tub was very nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
22
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I had no problem with the facility other that when I checked out they billed me twice and now they will not give me back my $300.00 that they overbilled me for. I am getting the runaround by their manager who probably pocketed my money. I Plan on suing them since I have proof of them taking funds out of both accounts. I held the room with my debit card and paid with a credit card. So what did they do they took money out of both accounts and now refuse to settle up. I have contacted my lawyer who says that this is a no loss case that I will win hands down. It is bull that I have to now travel for 4-1/2 hours to get my cash back. If you stay there you may get cheated like I did. BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotCheated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Spent 3 nights at this Holiday Inn Express and as the other reviewers have said there are mostly positives.

The location is convenient to the freeway and despite having a room facing the road there was no issue with traffic noise.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped (complete with fridge)
The front desk staff were welcoming
Pool area looked well maintained
There are several restaurants within walking distance which was good.

In fact the only thing that prevented me from awarding 5 stars was the breakfast situation -

when things ran out they weren't replenished
the juice machine did not work and the pitcher of orange ran low most days
it was our last day before we caught a fleeting glimpse of a very unhappy looking lady who seemed to be in charge of the breakfast area. it was the first time in 3 days we had seen anyone and she couldn't manage either a smile or a greeting. We honestly thought there was no one there the rest of the time.

Wouldn't stop me from returning - just seemed a little odd.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The room was spacious and we were able to open the window for fresh air at night.
The beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean.
The staff were great and very friendly and the only thing I had a problem with was the breakfast in the morning. I don't know if they had more people than they expected but they kept running out of food and so we had to wait for them to make more. My husband got the last of the eggs and yummy cinnamon rolls, so I had to wait a while for them to be replenished. The juice machine wasn't working but they did bring out a pitcher of orange juice. There were a lot of people eating breakfast and they could have used a few more tables. Oh, and they did have great coffee and plenty of it all morning long!!
All in all it was a good nights rest and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la-la-Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We needed a place to stay while passing through the state, and Des Moines was the mid-way point, but we don't like a lot of noise like you sometimes find. This hotel is on a cul-de-sac which means VERY light traffic around the place. We have a big luggage shell on the top of our car and we rested assured that no one would be around to bother it while we slept. Right across the street (walked) are three restaurants, including the Outback Steakhouse national chain for those who like to stay familiar. The room itself was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The free breakfast items included all types of items that my teens enjoyed (meats, eggs, several danishes and bread items, cereals, etc). This hotel is way off the highway so no traffic noise, and it is set back beside a quiet well-guarded industrial park (Tones Seasonings Company). The pool was very small though (kids didn't like), and they were having some minor issues with their elevator, but the exercise room was well-equipped. The staff was always friendly and it was a fast check-in. Absolutely NO odors! Not fancy but clean!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyNONsmokingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My husband and I had a 3 night stay in a 1 BR King Suite in December. We were in town for a few days to visit my folks. Rather than stay with them, we decided that we wanted our own place to stay, so we didn't have to displace my parents from their beds and their daily routines. What a wonderful respite from our busy days with family. At night we knew we could look forward to heading back to the sanctuary of our very comfortable, clean room. We also loved the convenience of the nice restaurants & bars across the street for a quick bite and a nite-cap before retiring. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the complimentary newspaper and breakfast in the morning were a nice treat. We will definitely stay here again when we're back in town for family business.

  • Liked — Convenience to Des Moines, cleanliness, comfort
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank retireddogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife and I spent four nights here while sightseeing in the greater Des Moines area and everything was excellent. The hotel is just three years old and has been maintained like new. It is just off I-35, but set back from the main roads, making it very quiet.

The lobby is large, with two sitting areas plus a business center area with two computers and a printer. Our room with a king-size bed was large, and very nicely decorated & color-coordinated. Our bed had a thick pillow-top mattress, with lots of pillows, both soft and firm, and was very comfortable. Our room included a microwave and small refrigerator. All walls were wallpapered, adding to the attractiveness of the room. Our bath area had a marble countertop with lots of room for personal toiletries. It also was fully wallpapered. Internet was both wireless and wired in our room and both worked perfectly.

All of the staff were very pleasant throughout our stay and very helpful with local directions and restaurant suggestions. There are many restaurants in the area. Chips, Waterfront Seafood Market and Outback are within easy walking distance, almost directly across the street.

The breakfast area, just off the lobby, is large and and included a large-screen TV and sitting area. Breakfasts were very good throughout our stay and included several hot items plus the standard warm Holiday Inn Express cinnamon buns. A full-time attendant tried to keep everything replenished and clean, but with a full hotel including many families with children, was overwhelmed at times.

The hotel also has an indoor pool and hot tub, and an exercise room with several machines.

The rates were a little higher than we would have liked, but not out of line considering the quality of the hotel, and that we were there the week of the Iowa State Fair and the final weeks of summer vacations. We very definitely would stay here again and very definitely would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Everything met our hopes and expectations
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was fine.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#10 of 13 in Ankeny
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ankeny

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
Address: 2402 SE Tones Dr, Exit 90 - Route 160, Ankeny, IA 50021-8885
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 35 the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ankeny/Des Moines is your home away from home offering the best service in the Des Moines area. Our hotel is in close proximity to several businesses including Tones Spices, John Deere, Praxair, Monsanto, Caseys, Embria, Syngenta, DMACC, Iowa State University & the Ankeny Airport. The following attractions are close to our hotel: Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, State Capitol, Science Center, Principal Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows, downtown Des Moines, Civic Center & Blank Park Zoo. Our hotel staff will make you feel at home whether you re traveling for business or pleasure. You will agree that when travelling to Ankeny/Des Moines, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the smart place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny Hotel Ankeny
Holiday Inn Ankeny
Ankeny Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing