We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Ankeny Holiday Inn Express is excellent value for money. The staff are extremely helpful, well-trained and professional. The rooms were exactly what you want after a long day's travel - big bed, comfortable, nice bath, clean, bright, with good work space for your laptop.

The breakfast room and reception area were comfortable. Breakfast was fine with a pretty good selection.

The hotel is located close to the interstate with several good restaurants within walking distance. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
27
21
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avoca, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a business meeting in Ankeny. We needed a hotel that would be close to our meeting spot, easy access, and reasonable rates. The Holiday Inn Express fit those needs. The front desk greeted all us upon arrival (we all checked-in at different times) The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rooms do have a microwave and refrig. available. There are a couple of restrauants in walking distance which is great when you don't want to get back into the car and drive some more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akelleyrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while attending an Iowa State Cyclone football game. The hotel was clean and comfortable. There was a private function in the breakfast area that was noisy and had a few people that seemed bothered by me just walking through the lobby (no fault of the hotel). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay at the Holiday Inn Express Ankeny whenever I have to go to Des Moines for business. It's very easy to get to off the highway. It's close to a lot of great Ankeny restaurants and really isn't very far from Des Moines restaurants, either. It's a clean hotel, with a very friendly staff. The breakfast is good for a free continental breakfast. The free wireless internet connection has always been extremely reliable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAW1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I had a pleasant over night stay here using a reward night. Rooms were modern, newer, and very clean, the staff pleasant, and breakfast excellent. Lots of dining as well as shopping/fuel options in the immediate area. Thatbsaid, the regular rate for my room would have been near $150 with tax which seems too high for me in this area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
824 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights here on a work trip so this was on an expense account. $120 for an average hotel room in suburban Des Moines seemed very expensive in my opinion. The room was nice and the hotel was clean and quiet but it seemed very expensive for an average room. The breakfast bar was standard for Holiday Inn Express and was all right. Nothing great but nothing bad either. I had no issues with the service and the hotel was pretty quiet which is important to me when I travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had to stay here for 12 days for a work trip and many little things added up to make this hotel frustrating to stay at. 1) Expect to wait for at least 2 hours for your room to be cleaned as it seems like they literally take the sheets off and wash them then put them back on 2) They will frequently be in your room through out the day or be knocking on your door to 'check on the room status'. I had my do not disturb sign on the door and they still only knocked once then let themselves in. 3) It's over priced - at one point during my stay the rate was $170, which seems high for small town Iowa. 4) The breakfast was just ok - powdered eggs, extremely thin bacon and a broken pancake machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ankeny

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ankeny
Address: 2402 Southeast Tones Dr, Exit 90 - Route 160, Ankeny, IA 50021-8879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 35 the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ankeny/Des Moines is your home away from home offering the best service in the Des Moines area. Our hotel is in close proximity to several businesses including Tones Spices, John Deere, Praxair, Monsanto, Caseys, Embria, Syngenta, DMACC, Iowa State University & the Ankeny Airport. The following attractions are close to our hotel: Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, State Capitol, Science Center, Principal Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows, downtown Des Moines, Civic Center & Blank Park Zoo. Our hotel staff will make you feel at home whether you re traveling for business or pleasure. You will agree that when travelling to Ankeny/Des Moines, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the smart place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ankeny Hotel Ankeny
Holiday Inn Ankeny
Ankeny Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing