We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Ankeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Ankeny
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Minnesota
2 reviews
“Room was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

The room was great!!! Everything was new & the bed was
comfortable. The towels were soft & I liked their complimentary
soaps. The front desk staff were helpful.

  • Liked — The towels were soft
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaKMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    73
    63
    55
    32
See reviews for
117
57
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

I knew booking this hotel was a mistake as soon as we entered the lobby. The hotel had a musty/moldy smell as if they had had major water damage and never replaced the carpets. The room was poorly maintained - needed paint and new carpet and required some repairs in the bathroom as well. The carpet was dirty - my white socks had DIRT on them after just walking around the room! After this disappointing experience, plus a previous bad experience with a Best Western that refused to honor our Confirmed Reservation (he had overbooked), I have never stayed at a Best Western again, nor do I ever plan to. I called the 800 number and learned that each Best Western is individually owned and operated, so the "chain" has no control over the individual hotel's practices. There are several other hotels within walking distance of the Best Western that I will try next time.

  • Liked — Location was convenient to freeway and college in Ankeny
  • Disliked — Poorly maintained, dirty room was a very very poor value
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusty_Sander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ankeny hotels

iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

I agree with filthy, keep your doors locked, with the chain!!! Someone entered the room after I left and put out the do not disturb sign and stood in the dark in front of our kids beds, luckily my husband was in the bathroom with the door closed and he left shortly. Our room wasn't cleaned the first night and barely the second, it was dirty, ran out of towels, it was extremly humid, I washed clothes (no dryer) and it was two days later when we packed up and still were wet. This is in the middle of the winter. Icould go on and on.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keywesttravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2005

This hotel was filthy!! I had to go to Wal-Mart and buy some cleaning supplies before even considering staying the night! I didn't complain because we were there on a family weekend getaway and did not want my children to see me cause a scene. So I just waited for them to go to the pool and went to work cleaning. It was quiet and they liked the pool..but the hotel was old and nasty. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2005

I stayed at the Best Western in Ankeny for my cousin wedding in May.
This place was horrible. Not only is the hotel severly run down but the entrances from the outside to get to your room are not locked. My room was soo nasty I almost cried that Iwould have to stay there. The whole night I heard a buch of kids above me partying. I even heard one throw up! Disgusting! I did complain but nothing happend until I wrote to corperate. The apologized and said they were going threw a "transition stage" and were going to remodel soon. They gave me a coupon for a free stay if I was ever in town again. Like I'm goin to stay there again! Anyway the next night my husband and I moved across the street and stayed at the Fairfield Inn. It was wonderful and clean. Also it was $10 cheaper and we got free continantal breakfest.

Helpful?
8 Thank JtaimeWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ankeny - Des Moines
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ankeny

Property: Ramada Ankeny
Address: 133 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021-9771 (Formerly The Ankeny Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ankeny
Ankeny Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing