We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Ramada Ankeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Ankeny
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a late night check-in so my husband and I were very tired. The service was fine and the room was fairly clean. The carpet could be cleaner and the room door needed a paint job, just scuffed up a bit. The bed slept well and overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Ankeny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Place was nice and staff at check in were courteous and kind. Had a 3 night stay which included breakfast every morning. At my first breakfast, the waitress took my card and never gave it back, even though I needed it the next several morning. When asked about it, she said I needed a new card. The breakfast itself left something to be desired...very greasy and limited choices. Decided it was not worth the effort to get a new card for that type of breakfast. Room was OK, much of the furniture had seen better days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinfbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room was not clean. There were candy wrappers, a plastic juice tab, and plenty of lint on the carpet from the previous guests. The hotel is old and looks it. A diner is attached which has good food and good service. Most of the rooms surround an indoor pool which was decent looking. If you don't mind the dirt, it's an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cbclbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed five days August 2013 and were very comfortable. Room was clean, bedding was good. Has a salt water indoor pool and a restaurant on premises. Restaurant was ok, and we ate there several times. We were very pleased and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pillow quality varies from hotel to hotel, if possible should bring your own.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel and we were given our first room it was dressed with only one king bed. I booked through Priceline and was suppose to be booking a room with 2 double beds. This being my first lesson ..... NEVER book through Priceline! I was told that regardless of what they say you are booking, they will always book you for a room with 1 King bed. I also learned that booking through Priceline also makes the hotel NOT RESPONSIBLE for any problems at all. We were fortunate that the hotel had a double occupancy available and were given a different room. Shortly after we got to our room we were greeted with a parade of ants. When my husband returned to the front desk to get assistance with this problem, he was given a can of ant killer and sent back to the room to take care of the hotels ant problem! Our shower would not drain and we were told that some rooms have this problem and they were aware of this. As a result they asked my husband if HE would like a plunger! HELLO!!!!!???? We are on vacation here! Why are we working for them when we paid them to work for us? To top things off the side doors didn't lock so we didn't feel as safe as I feel we should have. Very upsetting, we DO NOT plan to return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff was excellent and very helpful. The first room we were given was still being cleaned. We notified front desk, they apologized, and assigned another. I booked the room through the hotel itself and then later found a discounted rate online. I booked the discounted rate and called to cancel. The rep at the hotel canceled the wrong booking. When I checked out, I was charged the higher rate. The assistant manager was very helpful and worked with me to resolve the issue quickly, refunding the difference. Overall, the staff and customer service was superb! Housekeeping included. My main issue was that the side entry doors into the building never locked. This was a safety concern for me. Due to this, I wouldn't stay here again. If that weren't a concern, I would recommend it as a cheap, budget friendly hotel. Rooms were clean and met expectations for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If they read reviews the hotel would be better off. Carpet is filthy in rooms. Just disgusting. Paint peeling, ceiling tiles stained. The hotel is old but old does not have to mean dirty. many reviews on room carpet and room 251 looked like it was puked on. No excuse for dirt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank barreca11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#5 of 13 in Ankeny
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ankeny

Address: 133 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021-9771 (Formerly The Ankeny Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range: $83 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ankeny
Ankeny Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing