We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly and old”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Ankeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Ankeny
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smelly and old”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel needs refurbishing. Smelly and when we opened our window, we had to "sleep" (didn't sleep) with loud freeway noise. If you want a basic bed, this is fine but it isn't cheap. The price for what you get is appalling. I wouldn't have stayed here by choice. WiFi didn't work, too weak.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    74
    65
    55
    33
See reviews for
120
58
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darien
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Loved all the extra outlets available. Loved breakfast subsidized with Ankeny Diner. Suggestion maybe should offer a straight dollar amount off. The choices are limiting..just a recommendation.

Note, indoor pool very strong chlorine odor, but not a show stopper. Just make you let them know you would not like to be near pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all there is no elevator and the hotel has two floors. This is a two star (or less) hotel but having said this - my room was clean, although very basic. The hotel could use a real sprucing up.

Room Tip: Unless you want to fight with your luggage up stairs to a second floor ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ankeny hotels

Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our recent stay was a good one.

We really liked the pool, salt water pool, nice and warm. Any chlorine smell comes from the adjacent 6 person spa.

The room was decent.

Don't expect 5 star rooms for 2 star prices.

Breakfast is not included, there is an attached restaurant.

We had solid wifi in our room, we had our choice of 2 strong hotel wifi signals in fact.

Our one actual complaint is related to the pool area. Specifically: a lack of response from housekeeping when it was brought to the front desk attention that there were zero towels in the pool area with roughly a dozen people in the pool. After 45 minutes housekeeping had still not provided any pool towels to the pool area, not a deal breaker but definitely disappointing level of responsiveness. The front desk gave us a discount for the inconvenience which was a nice touch, but really - housekeeping needs to pay attention to things like this. Hotel score is reduced entirely due to housekeeping's lack of response.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I'm on a seven month tour of the United States and I've learned something: I tend to IGNORE some of the more negative reviews about restaurants and hotels and after I research a place decide to try it myself. I don't understand what the fuss on some reviews about this place is all about. The room was great. Internet was great. This hotel has a really great indoor swimming pool that was brimming with what looked like happy high school students. The TV selection was superb. It was near some restaurants and (I needed wine so I was happy) right next to a drive in liquor store with a classy selection of local Iowa wines. The staff was exceedingly friendly. The only drawback is there is no continental breakfast but a wonderful 50s style diner (open all hours) is on the property and you get a discount when you eat there. My breakfast was a)wonderful b)a great value, c)served with speed equivilent to a fast food restaurant but with diner quality. I really liked this hotel and almost stayed an extra day, rather than moving on to Waterloo (where I once again ignored reviews and am in a GREAT hotel...more on that later)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Had a great stay. They have been working hard to ensure the happiness of there guests. I would recommend this hotel to everyone
Great hotel for the price

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany24c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILAN,IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was OK. Don't expect anything great. My room was ok and we had a regular window air conditioner that worked well. The bed was comfortable and the room was pretty clean. But the bathroom fan was loud and ran all night. I couldn't shut it off! We traveled with friends who stayed in a room right next door and their air conditioner didn't work at all.
We got in late with kids who were hungry, the restaurant staff weren't very helpful and made it clear they really didn't want to fix us food that close to their closing time. Found out the next day they had a childrens menu they didn't mention to us..... We will pass next time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSLLUVSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ankeny - Des Moines
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ankeny

Property: Ramada Ankeny
Address: 133 SE Delaware Ave, Ankeny, IA 50021-9771 (Formerly The Ankeny Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ankeny
Ankeny Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing