We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasty Tacos

Tasty Tacos
Ranked #24 of 140 Restaurants in Ankeny
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mpls
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We just happened to be passing through the Des Moines area around lunch time and decided to make a stop. Not being thrilled with the chains available we decided to check out Tasty Taco. We tried a few of the burritos which are made in a traditional style. If I am back in the area again, I will definitely make another stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank jc_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IOWA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mejor Taco te come en Iowa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Translated ~ best taco you'll ever eat in Iowa. The food is all very good but the flour shell taco is outstanding. You can choose beef, bean, chicken, steak, or pork. Then they add lettuce and cheese to a indescribably delicious flour shell. When you get it to your table you will want to put on their taco sauce to make it even BETTER!!!!!! I have on occasion tried the Burritos and Nacho Supreme but I am totally HOOKED on the original Beef Flour Taco. So give it a try ~ but not on Sunday. They are closed Sundays to honor family time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasey305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
353 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“World's Best Taco's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

You will not find another Mexican restaurant in the world that serves tacos as mouthwatering satisfying than their deep fried flour tacos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been visiting family in Ankeny for years but I was just introduced to Tasty Tacos. One of my step sons really doesn't like it. But I really enjoyed their Original Taco. I'm not going to claim it's the best food ever, but I would stop in again and eat here any time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great local alternative to the national fast food chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is my favorite fast food taco in the Midwest. I wished I lived closer. I grew up here and after 20 years it is still excellent. The tacos are in a puffy, fried, flour tortilla filled to the brim with hamburger, beans, lettuce and finely shredded cheese. It is mild, so you'll want to put some hot sauce on it. Price is very reasonable. Service is fast and friendly. The building is no-frills, what matters is the food is great.

Be warned that this location is closed on Sundays. I've made that mistake on trips driving through.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasty Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Tasty Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing