We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As always, the AmericInn never disappoints us. We enjoyed the updated decor in our room as well as the new refrigerator and microwave. The rooms are so quiet! This location is close to many restaurant choices. The breakfast offers something for everyone. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Updated decor,

I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel. We constantly strive to provide clean rooms and exceptional service and it is rewarding to hear we are doing a good job. I hope if you are ever in Ankeny again you will come and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from Parents Weekend at ISU in Ames Iowa. Due to hotel capacity and high pricing (room rates tripled for the weekend), we stayed at the AmericInn in Ankeny just a short drive from the University. It was a wonderful stay. Despite being totally booked, the hotel was quiet, the complimentary breakfast was well stocked (waffles, eggs, cereal, etc) and everything was spotless! Front desk was friendly and helpful. First time staying at this chain and would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Parents weekend,

I wanted to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are pleased that your stay was a great one. Here at the AmericInn we strive to provide clean rooms and exceptional service and it is always nice to hear that we are doing well. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you return to our hotel. Thanks again.


Julie Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed two nights. Clean and quiet. Nice staff. Room was clean, comfortable, modern. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was okay, could use more fresh fruit.
Note that they do not have an elevator. We stayed on the first floor. Windows opened, which was nice.
Location was good, close to hwy. We were just going to downtown Des Moines for a show. Easy drive. Easy access to head out of town.

Room Tip: First floor room faced an open space, nice view of nature.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Good location,

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide great customer service and clean lodging. We have added new beds since your last stay. I hope if you are in the area again you will come and see us.


Julie Wright
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used this location for 4 days while we road the beautiful bicycle trails around Des Moine. Great location for all trailheads. Nice and quiet, pool and hot tub after 50+ mile rides was perfect. A little lite on breakfast fare.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deskmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Bike Central,

I wanted to thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great stay. And yes there are many great trails around Des Moines. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you as our guests. Please feel free to give me a shout at the front desk if you do return and I may be able to direct you to some new trails in the area if you are interested.


Julie Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very pleasant . Room very nice, clean and comfortable. Bed and pillows were excellent. Very quiet and a good nights sleep. Used the pool and found it to be very clean and well kept up. Breakfast was good with a nice veritity and selection. Great location easy on off the interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Great stay,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on trip advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Here at the Americinn we work very hard to provide exceptional service to our guests and we always appreciate hearing that we are doing a good job. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.


Julie Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family & i spent the weekend in the AmericInn in Ankeny and had a wonderful stay!!! I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends!! Best room i ever stayed in! The beds were very comfortable and roomy. Microwave and refrigerator in room were clean and worked well. Nice variety of breakfast foods in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Very Impressed with the cleanliness,

I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel, your feedback is very important to us. It pleases us a great deal to know that your stay was so nice. I will be sure to let our houskeepers know that they received a wonderful comment about their work. We have continued our remodel since your stay and almost all in the hotel is new. I hope that you will come and see us again.


Julie Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My review would be 5 stars had the A/C worked better. Granted during our stay the first 4 days the temps rose above 100 degrees, but I wonder if the AC units are regularly maintained. When the temps dropped down in the 80s at the end of the week things got a bit better with the AC. That aside I can not say enough good about the staff and how accommodating they are. The manager worked very hard to get us rooms so our large group could all be at a single hotel. Our softball team stayed there for five nights during the World Series with few problems. Trying to save money we had a grill we used to grill out a couple nights. As luck would have it our grill had a minor issue that sent grease all over their sidewalk. The hotel was very gracious and help clean it up without making a big deal. Since we were staying a week the hotel also jockeyed refrigerators around for us so we could have refrigerators in our rooms. Something they did not have to do, but was a nice touch. The staff was very helpful the entire week. When we needed something they delivered. They even let us use a small conference room for a pot luck a couple nights. If there was anything I would change about the hotel it would be add another ice machine and get all the A/C units working better otherwise it was a very pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Ankeney for softball. Thank you AmericInn.

Room Tip: 205 and below are close to the lobby which can be a bit noisy and busy. We had 203 and had no probl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Great stay in Ankeny,

I wanted to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you had such a great stay. We enjoy very much working to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. Wanted to let you know we have finished our remodel since you were here. We now have new beds and furniture as well as fridges and microwaves in all the rooms. If you ever visit Ankeny again we would love have have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#5 of 13 in Ankeny
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites

Address: 1610 SE Oralabor Rd, Ankeny, IA 50021
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range: $94 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ankeny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing