We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, new, spacious hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Immaculate, new, spacious hotel!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a long day's drive we were thrilled to stay in this new, clean, spacious hotel. Our family of 5 fit with lots of extra room in a suite, and the kids loved the beautiful pool. The eating area was spacious and stocked with coffee, iced lemon water, and apples when we arrived, and breakfast the next morning was a complete meal. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom large, and everything was great. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningfun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    76
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
147
50
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Appears to be a very new hotel, but I was surprised by the poor quality of construction. The bathroom door could not close because of a high spot in the floor tile! Really? I do agree with a previous reviewer that the front desk clerk was very uninformative. The bed was uncomfortable. I guess I would have given this property 2 stars if it wasn't for the fact that my stay was free! (Used Hilton Honors points) It was very clean though... will give them that!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have always held Hampton Inns with very high regards and the front desk staffs friendly attitudes. At this location the front desk clerk was not friendly, told me nothing about the hotel, where anything was, nothing. I had to ask all the questions. I was tired and I know Hamptons always greet honors members and give you the run down but this guy didn't seem to care about nothing but to get rid of me. I am a new Honors member, he didn't even as if I was, I had to tell him. He said he would TRY to look me up but couldn't even find me. Didn't offer any advise on how to even find me in the system. Said if I found my number to let him know.

I really needed a hot tub so I chose Hampton, always do. They are always clean and I know they always check the chlorine content carefully. I checked in and hit the hot tub. After driving for hours and my back killing me that was all I wanted. I got in and noticed the strong smell of chlorine. As much as I needed relief I stayed in, my eyes started burning so after 15 mintutes I got out. After returning to my room I smelt horrible of chlorine and my eyes continued to burn.

Very disappointed as this was the only reason I wanted to get a room there. When changing clothes in the bathroom I also noticed big toe nails laying on the carpet outside the door which was discusting. I have always enjoyed Hampton Inns for their high standards and cleanliness but was very disappointed in this location. As pretty as it was I feel they could take better care of their hot tub and clearly the room was not inspected because the toenails were very visable.

This was not a good experience for me at all. Manager needs to step it up a little with a few things there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Check-in was quick and efficient. The room was very clean and everything was in working order. The breakfast was above average. The staff was friendly. I can't really fault the hotel for this but the place was full of little league players in town for a tournament so the lobby and pool areas were somewhat overrun by the noisy little munchkins. We heard a few bumps and thumps above us in the evening but it quieted down after about 10 PM and we never had to complain about the noise. All-in-all this was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything in this hotel site was great except for the Sat. Sun. complimentary breakfast..... Waffle batter needs to be richer and moister. The scrambled eggs - terrible- they were hard and dry, totally dry. They should be removed from the grill while "WET", and made in small batches, and the steam table holding pan refilled frequently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff was excellent, the hotel was clean, the hot breakfast was just right, the pool was wet.

We stayed in the King Suite, which was just an over-sized room with a pullout sofa bed at the foot of the King Bed (i.e. you sleep feet-to-feet with your kids with about 5 or so yards between the two beds. It was a nice room and I have no legit complaints about anything regarding the hotel itself. The location was not great. You have to drive a ways to get to any restaurants or entertainment, but it is easily noticeable and accessible from the Interstate.

Extremely overpriced for the type of hotel, but hey, it was a busy weekend in the Des Moines area so the demand was extremely high.

Room Tip: Don't waste the $$ on the suite - it's just an oversized King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLeslieHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our niece's (large) wedding. The Hotel was full of wedding goers and a softball team. Despite how busy it was, the hotel staff was prompt and courteous. We were able to check in early without any trouble, which allowed us to be on time to all of the weekend's events. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well stocked. Even with two large groups (both with a tendency to be active) the noise level was never a problem in our rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#10 of 13 in Ankeny
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Address: 6210 SE Convenience Blvd, Ankeny, IA 50021-9410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny Hotel Ankeny
Hampton Inn And Suites Ankeny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing