We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our room was nice, clean, cool and comfortable. We were in town for the Good Guys car show in Des Moines so didn't spend much time in our room.

The directions on their website were good. Pool was large and clean but a large group of boys came in after a long day in the hot sun and were very rowdy so we went back to our rooms to shower and then had tasty dinner at the Iowa Beef house in Des Moines. We enjoyed it and would recommend splitting a meal. The steak was delicious.

Free breakfast had a lot of offerings. An employee refilled the items as they disappeared. A large group of people of varoius ages used that same area located across from the lobby the night before. It's nice to have an informal place to gather when you are with a big group of people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmain2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    75
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
142
48
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

it was great stay in this hotel. the hotel is very clean and fresh and staff is very friendly and helpfull. the breakfast in the morning was also great . it consists of several hot items. room was nice and clean with really nice lay out very functional . Bathroom has very nice touch with walk in shower. tubs are dangerous. thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelisfun1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A fairly new Hampton. Room was very nice. BUT there was no tub, and nothing on the online reservation said -- in some prominent way as SHOULD be the case -- that NO rooms have bathtubs. When one has a spouse with arthritis looking forward to a hot tub, this is a major disappointment. Desk clerk was rather surly (unlike most Hampton Inn personnel I've encountered in 10 years as a Gold/Diamond). (I realize that I should have carefully looked at the small print in the room details, but I think that if a hotel room does not have a tub that should be PROMINENTLY noted). The breakfast was the usual dismal Hampton fare (to be fair, that is a chain-wide problem, with the diminution and dumbing-down of the brand standards in the last few years). The place was also full of NASCAR folks who took up most of the breakfast area for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stopped by on my way from MI to WY to spend the night and i was not disappointed. Right off I-80 on 35 so easy easy. Good breakfast and was on my way west.

Room Tip: I would guess that they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great experience at this location. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Rooms were modern, clean and well done even if not the cutting edge Hampton Inn style. Pool and whirlpool were modern and clean and a great way to relax after a long drive. Hotel was orderly and quite even though there were quite a few guests. We will return to this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, the extra space is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our experience at the Hampton was excellent! Kegan at the front desk was very helpful and accomodating to our large group. The Meeting Room was perfect along with the large lobby area with the TV. The kids had a great time swimming too. The rooms were very clean.

I will definately stay again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcats_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel looks new and is being well maintained. The management is very customer service friendly and did an amazing job accommodating special requests. This Hampton Inn is an excellent example of what a Hilton branded hotel should be. The grounds were well maintained, the lobby, gym, pool and guest rooms are immaculate and breakfast was good. Even though the hotel was fully booked, the hotel was quiet at night and the breakfast dinning area was well maintained. I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. If you look at some of my other reviews, you'll see that I'm very critical and honest. Great hotel.

Room Tip: When you drive to the hotel, your GPS will have you take the wrong exit. Make sure you get direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkswave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Address: 6210 SE Convenience Blvd, Ankeny, IA 50021-9410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Ankeny
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny Hotel Ankeny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing