We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed there one night. Very nice room. Location is off the main streets which is quiet. Right off the highway. Hotel staff was accomodating, they allowed us to check in early. Only issue is breakfast is not included. There are many eateries near by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorro4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAnkeny, Director of Sales at Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Zorro4122,

I'm Cheryl Jass, Director of Sales at the Courtyard by Marriott in Ankeny, Iowa. Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We agree that our hotel has a nice quiet setting, and we are very proud of our outstanding staff who offer exceptional service to all of our guests. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We do offer a few packages that include our Breakfast Buffet such as our Romance Package or our Family Fun Package. I invite you to stay with us again and enjoy one of these packages. Thanks again for taking time to write your review - we greatly value our guest's feedback.
Thanks again,
Cheryl and the entire team at the Courtyard by Marriott Ankeny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    42
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
19
3
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel has a very cheerful atmosphere. Upon entering I was greeted immediately and was in my room in no time. The lighting was bright and everything was clean and in good working order. The location is very handy for people traveling on I-35 or I-80. It is near the Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) The shower was large with good water pressure, and there were good heavy drapes to totally block out the street lights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arle7eBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We really liked this hotel during a 2 night state for the Iowa state fair. Clean and new hotel with plenty of dining options within a short drive. It was an easy drive to the fairgrounds but this might be a little far out for visiting/working in downtown Des Moines.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

In town for a soccer tournament, and couldn't have stayed at a nicer place. Due to the games hotel allowed us a late check out. Hotel staff was very accommodating. As for the specifics, there is an itty bitty swimming pool, hot tub, and exercise room with 3 nice treadmills, 1 elliptical and free weights. All are were adequate. Breakfast buffet is good and costs $9.95. Buffet consists of fresh fruit, oatmeal with various toppings, yogurt, cereal, breads & pastries, scrambled eggs, country potatoes, sausage, bacon, biscuits/gravy, hash, waffles, French toast, juice, and coffee. We had a 1/2 off coupon for breakfast, otherwise I don't know if I would have paid $10, especially for kids.
Now for the fun stuff, the dreaded wedding party. Let's just put it this way, there are only 5 floors in this hotel and they were loud and everywhere. My friend walked down to the front desk around midnight to complain. Hotel security took care of it and shut it down with in 10mins and then they comped our breakfast the next morning. I'm not down grading the hotel on this because they took care of it and is a hard balance trying to keep all types of customers happy. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quesarah68136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a nice hotel with clean rooms, clean interior and exterior, and friendly staff. The hotel is also situated in close proximity to multiple restaurants, drugstores, and town. Highly recommended hotel in Ankeny!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnualTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a nicer Courtyard by Marriott which has more modern and updated rooms. Comfortable bed and friendly staff. There is not full cafe or bar though and the hotel is a bit far from downtown Des Moines. If you are out for business or pleasure in Des Moines I would stay at the Courtyard in West Des Moines or the Marriott downtown rather than the Ankeny location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullStacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stay at the Courtyard for an overnight visit. I was so suprised on how big the building acutally was. It was clean and looked as big or bigger than pictures I saw from the website. All the hotel staff was friendly. As for my first stay in the Ankeny area this hotel was easy to spot from the highway. My room was clean and comfy. I was amazed by the bathroom when I looked in that I even took a picture to show my friends. I also liked their were plenty of lights so I don't have to travel to the door switch and back in the dark to find my bed. I was surprised by the room having a microwave and mini-frigde which was a super plus cause I was able to keep a few beverages cold had heat up food I had with me.
I have stayed at different Marriott hotels and this is my favorite one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cuddlelovebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ankeny
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#6 of 13 in Ankeny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny

Property: Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Address: 2405 SE Creekview Dr, Ankeny, IA 50021-8800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Ankeny is a Platinum Circle Award winning hotel, located between Des Moines and Ames at exit 90 off I-35. Our hotel features an open and inviting lobby, interactive GoBoard® with touchscreen info on the go, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. We also feature a spacious conference center where we can accommodate up to 400 guests in our Grand Ballroom. Our full service banquet staff will take care of every detail to make your event memorable. Guests can also enjoy our lobby bar, heated indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. When looking for a hotel in the Des Moines, Ankeny or Ames area, make the Courtyard by Marriott your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing