We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here as part of a two week conference. The room was comfortable and clean. The area behind the hotel has a neat patio with a gas firepit. The bed was comfortable, the lobby layout was nice. I enjoyed the breakfast each day, and chatted with many other guests in the morning or evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandacut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for a family wedding. This hotel is obviously new and modern. Rooms (ours was a double queen) were generously sized and well appointed and offered all the amenities one would expect (large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc).

Coffee bar in lobby was outstanding. Breakfast area was modern and spacious and service was outstanding. A full hot breakfast did carry a price of $9.95, but less costly options were also available for those who preferred a more traditional continental breakfast. A fresh muffin, fresh fruit, and juice was available for $1.50.

Fresh cookies were available at check-in and front desk personnel were friendly and efficient through out our stay. An overall great experience which will put other Marriott facilities high on our list for future consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I made my reservations for this hotel more than a month in advance as most hotels were getting booked for Iowa State Graduation that weekend. Upon check-in I asked for a Senior Discount for my Mother's room (she is 80)--they said NO! I asked for a Military Discount for my room and it was not available, either. No free breakfast, few newspapers to go around--even at 7 AM, I could not get one.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel if you are on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon95GCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAnkeny, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Sharon95GCP,

As General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott Ankeny, I want to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. During busy times in our area, such as Iowa State University graduation, we do not typically offer discounted rates. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard two nights when we attended the Drake Relays, and enjoyed a fresh breakfast for $9.95 each. Also the motel is located near the several good resturants a couple of blocks from the hotel. The motel is clean, beds comfortable, and a lounge area where you will find several computers (if you didn't bring your own), a fireplace, cash bar, and free coffe and tea. Weather permitting there is an outside area in back off the lounge where you can hang out in the evenings or afternoons!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Overall the hotel is nice. On the newer side with rooms that are pretty large, Only downside is the gym. Very small and no antiseptic wipes for the machines. Kind of gross when you go in and you see some sweaty dude getting off the eliptical and there is nothing to wipe it down with. There is a bottle of antiseptic hand wash, but what do you use it with? A sweat towel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb6348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAnkeny, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for the comments from your recent stay with us. I am the General Manager at the Courtyard by Marriott - Ankeny and I would like to apologize for the antiseptic wipes not being in place in our fitness center. This has been addressed with our Housekeeping staff to make sure we are staying on top of this issue. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Nov 11th and 12th. We were concerned when we saw many buses dropping off students. Fortunately they were FFA members and very well behaved. The room was comfortable, WI-FI worked well, all furnishings were newer and well kept. The only downside was that breakfast was not included. It cost $9.95 and was very good - eggs and omelets to order, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, oatmeal, etc. We just thought that $9.95 was a little expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the side opposite the front. Quite and dark.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of a wedding we were attending in Ames Iowa. Every hotel in Ames was full because of the Iowa-Iowa State football game. It was a little bit of a drive, but not bad (around 25 minutes). I'm pickey about hotels, and this one was nice, comfortable and most of all very clean. One thing that would have made it nicer would have been to have a breakfast buffet for free like many other hotels do. To get breakfast you had to go to the restaurant in the lobby which on Sunday morning only had brunch which was expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinneapolisSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ankeny
Comfort Inn Ankeny
#5 of 13 in Ankeny
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny

Address: 2405 SE Creekview Dr, Ankeny, IA 50021-8800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range: $119 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Ankeny is a Platinum Circle Award winning hotel, located between Des Moines and Ames at exit 90 off I-35. Our hotel features an open and inviting lobby, interactive GoBoard® with touchscreen info on the go, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. We also feature a spacious conference center where we can accommodate up to 400 guests in our Grand Ballroom. Our full service banquet staff will take care of every detail to make your event memorable. Guests can also enjoy our lobby bar, heated indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. When looking for a hotel in the Des Moines, Ankeny or Ames area, make the Courtyard by Marriott your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing