We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay, and not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Third stay, and not disappointed”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard two nights when we attended the Drake Relays, and enjoyed a fresh breakfast for $9.95 each. Also the motel is located near the several good resturants a couple of blocks from the hotel. The motel is clean, beds comfortable, and a lounge area where you will find several computers (if you didn't bring your own), a fireplace, cash bar, and free coffe and tea. Weather permitting there is an outside area in back off the lounge where you can hang out in the evenings or afternoons!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
19
3
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Overall the hotel is nice. On the newer side with rooms that are pretty large, Only downside is the gym. Very small and no antiseptic wipes for the machines. Kind of gross when you go in and you see some sweaty dude getting off the eliptical and there is nothing to wipe it down with. There is a bottle of antiseptic hand wash, but what do you use it with? A sweat towel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb6348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardAnkeny, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for the comments from your recent stay with us. I am the General Manager at the Courtyard by Marriott - Ankeny and I would like to apologize for the antiseptic wipes not being in place in our fitness center. This has been addressed with our Housekeeping staff to make sure we are staying on top of this issue. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again when you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Nov 11th and 12th. We were concerned when we saw many buses dropping off students. Fortunately they were FFA members and very well behaved. The room was comfortable, WI-FI worked well, all furnishings were newer and well kept. The only downside was that breakfast was not included. It cost $9.95 and was very good - eggs and omelets to order, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, oatmeal, etc. We just thought that $9.95 was a little expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the side opposite the front. Quite and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of a wedding we were attending in Ames Iowa. Every hotel in Ames was full because of the Iowa-Iowa State football game. It was a little bit of a drive, but not bad (around 25 minutes). I'm pickey about hotels, and this one was nice, comfortable and most of all very clean. One thing that would have made it nicer would have been to have a breakfast buffet for free like many other hotels do. To get breakfast you had to go to the restaurant in the lobby which on Sunday morning only had brunch which was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed one night with my family and was pleasantly surprised how new and pretty this hotel was! The rooms are large and have frig big enough for gallon of milk, key with a toddler. The pillows and bedding were really exceptional for this level hotel. We would stay again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musthavebeachsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed two nights for a family wedding. The hotel staff was positive, responsive, helpful, and accommodating whether early in the morning or late at night. The rooms were clean and modern; quite comfortable. I couldn't have been happier except to have been able to stay longer!

Room Tip: The rooms appeared to be equal with small refrigerators, microwaves, one-cup coffee makers, large, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Our stay was excellant. We found the breakfast menu just what we wanted to order, I do realize that many guest don't like the fact that guests at Marriott Courtyards must pay for breakfast; however that is okay with us. We have stayed at many Courtyards, and we liked the menu best at this location. The motel is new, close to the interstate, with several good eating places for a night out within walking distance or drive your car, or there is a bar and food to order available at the motel. We where attending track and field events at Drake University, and found the drive into Des Moines to the staduim traffic free on a Saturday morning!

Room Tip: the room was clean and fresh bathroom with extra towels I had noted on the our online reservation r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankeny hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ankeny
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ankeny
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ankeny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ankeny
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#10 of 13 in Ankeny
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny

Property: Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny
Address: 2405 SE Creekview Dr, Ankeny, IA 50021-8800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott - Ankeny is a Platinum Circle Award winning hotel, located between Des Moines and Ames at exit 90 off I-35. Our hotel features an open and inviting lobby, interactive GoBoard® with touchscreen info on the go, and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. We also feature a spacious conference center where we can accommodate up to 400 guests in our Grand Ballroom. Our full service banquet staff will take care of every detail to make your event memorable. Guests can also enjoy our lobby bar, heated indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. When looking for a hotel in the Des Moines, Ankeny or Ames area, make the Courtyard by Marriott your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines Ankeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing