We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun spot but hard to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teddy's Barn and Grill

Teddy's Barn and Grill
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Anamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fun spot but hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate at Teddy's last night. Fun waitress, good selection of appetizers and menu items. Service was good and pretty fast for food that was so well prepared. In a beautifully restored barn. Only problem is that the restrooms are on the bottom level, and we were on the top level. A little hard to find, but worth the drive. It would be a fun summer destination.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jean e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food in a unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I like to go when they have the 2 for $20 menu on Wednesday nights. You get quite a bit of foot for the money: 1 appetizer to share, each get a choice of salad or soup , and 2 entrees. We really enjoy their appetizer "Fried green beans and Mushrooms." They must use portabella mushrooms, and they also serve it with a yummy sauce. They only thing I would avoid there would be the lasagna. They put bacon in it which didn't seem right. However, the steak I had there was tender and well seasoned. We have been there twice and certainly go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBC10663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who Would of Thought!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Taking a ride in Grant Wood country is always nice to look forward to!!Now you can have your ride and food too!It's a barn ,remodeled into a very nice resturant.Great for sandwiches or full course dinners. Great food!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well kept secret! Scenic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were awed, actually shocked that we found such a jewel. Located on E23 in Anamosa, between Amber and the Edinburgh Manor, it may be a bit of a drive for some, but it is well worth the travel. Teddy's is in an actual refurbished barn that is tastefully decorated with a cozy ambiance,but the food was the real treat. I had the flat iron steak that was excellent. My husband had the sirloin, which he enjoyed as well, but preferred the tenderness of the flat iron. The creme brûlée we had for dessert was very good. Our very experienced waitress (20 plus yrs. of experience) was attentive and knowledgeable. We had the privilege of meeting the owner who gave us a through history of the area and excellent professional guidance she received preparing for this venue. We give it 5/5 stars. Bravo. We cannot wait to return and bring our family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IowanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice location, good service, good beer selection - no wine selection yet but I am really glad we stoped by to try the food. One negative recommendation do not order the fried fish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcw_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teddy's Barn and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Teddy's Barn and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing