We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks on my business trip to Ames.
Great staff. Clean rooms and good breakfast. Veggie options are limited in the hot section.
Will recommend to others and will like to stay here in future too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YahanKaunHaiMera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your four star review! We are glad you took the time to review your three week stay with us - it is good to hear from you again! We do have limited veggie options on our menu, but I have forwarded your comments on to our brand performance support team to see if there are any options we can add during your next visit to Ames! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    114
    52
    35
    6
See reviews for
138
45
17
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I often stay at Hampton and generally believe them to be a good value. The Ames location is not typical of other Hampton Inn's. It is unusually high priced, the furnishings are worn and the air conditioning is deafening and cools poorly. The beds look like they were made by a drunken college kid. The one bright spot. The lady who runs the breakfast area is extremely polite and friendly. I hope my stay is an isolated incident.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for giving us detailed feedback about your past stay with us! We are very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expecations with us during your time with us, but are glad you gave us feedback so we know what areas we need to work on before your next trip with us to the Ames area. We are always looking for ways to improve and look forward to showing you the changes the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great hotel experience. All staff are friendly and helpful rather it be recommending places nearby to visit or assist with your accomatations. Very clean and great breakfast! Breakfast choices included healthy and fresh food as well as delicious cinnamon rolls! The pool was pristine and relaxing after a busy day. The use of the internet came in handy for my daughter's homework as well as my business. Having a thermostat in the room also gave my room an at-home feel. Lots of fluffy pillows to relax on and fresh smelling linens.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your five star rating! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We have been undergoing many changes as a brand over the past 6 months and are glad you noticed many of the new items we have implemented from our new baked goods served on our “On The House Hot Breakfast” to our new Down Dreams pillows in the guest rooms! We take pride in serving all of our guests, and your review put a smile on our team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Ames again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tip: First thing, check the bedding. We saw ants crawling in the sheets. No alternate rooms available.Bath sink and tub-shower accessibility problems. Door deadbolt wouldn't close--door so out-of-plumb.We stay at Hampton Inns a lot and have never, ever found this. Appropriately, the hotel assured us they would not charge us for the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback about your past stay with us! We are truly sorry about how your past stay went with us. We assure you this is not the normal experience at our Hampton, and we are sad to say we did not live our 100% Satisfaction promise. We have undergone many changes including a new pest control company to ensure everything you mentioned to our team has been corrected. If there is anything else we can do for you please do not hesitate to reach out to me or anyone on our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I thought I was getting 2 queen beds but I got 2 double instead. Very uncomfortable is smaller bed. Breakfast was ok but pool had high chlorine level when we arrived and also I was not able to get an extra night due to the price of the room jumping from 99 per night to 179 in just a day of make reservation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hampton! Next time you stay with us, please check out our rooms with king beds, they are just perfect for business travels like yourself! We do apologize about our rates, but they do change daily as we try to remain competitive with other hotels of our quality. If there is anything we can do for you prior to your next stay please feel free to reach out to myself. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a nice hotel but nothing exceptional. Good for a short term stay. Location was good if you wanted to be near the Interstate, not so good if you wanted to be close to Iowa State University. Rooms and furnishings were very good. Service was fine. Food at breakfast was of uneven quality. Value (based on the pricing) was so- so. Pool was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ClintonB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your time with us! We are always looking for ways to improve and we will take note on your comments! We have located your reservation, and we know you loved our omelets we had two of the four days you stayed with us! We placed a note on your Hilton Honors profile to ensure we have some made up for you during your next trip to the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I hate to leave bad hotel reviews.

I will say that it wasn't a horrible stay. I only stayed here in the first place, however, because I needed to stay in Ames and my normal hotel was not available. So, I gave this place a shot because it was the only one left.

It was clean. Bed was comfortable. I loved the office chair. I am so happy this is one of those hotels that are starting to catch on and putting easily accessible outlets and charging stations bedside and at the workstation desk.

The whirlpool was pretty solid however one of the nobs was broke, and the area where the waterfalls down was fragile, as in, fell apart if you accidentally nudged it. The controls to turn it on require you to completely exit and walk around the wall to turn it back on, if necessary. Little annoying, really, especially since the floors get pretty slippery when wet in the background.

I was wanting to watch something on my laptop, via HDMI. However, that was a complete pain to maneuver. I essentially gave up trying to do it the correct way, and plugged my cable into where the HDMI1 slot was pulling the HD TV from.

Speaking of HDTV, this was the best TV in a hotel room I've had. That's not saying too much, but hopefully this catches on at other locations. Never got the supposed digital TV guide to work, though. That'd be a nice feature.

Internet was pitifully slow. It's time hotels get with the times and actually get some high speed Internet.

The room was fairly small for a king suite, however, I'm not overly concerned about that. I also did not see a refrigerator in the room. So, either it wasn't there, or so hidden I couldn't see it. I only stayed one night, but that's very annoying for long-term stays. For the highest available room at this facility, a refrigerator should be standard.

There was a TON of noise from some horribly bratty kids that literally occupied all of the rooms surrounding me. They spent most of the day/night jumping from room to room and generally being obnoxious in the hallways. Thankfully (sarcasm) their parents were absolutely not the least bit concerned, nor was the hotel management who, just about 20 doors down the hall, definitely was hearing the commotion.

About 20 minutes after checking in, the front desk called my room to make sure everything was going OK. I feel like a rude person to complain about this, but I was a reporter, trying to file a story before deadline. And it messed up my focus and really nothing was accomplished by it.

Overall, I felt the room was overpriced. I normally stay at a much nicer hotel, for less than I paid for one night here. This is a solid and clean hotel. But you can easily find that around the area for much less per night.

I probably won't stay again. I travel to Ames just once a year, normally. Next time if my normal spot is not available, I'll stay outside of Ames most likely.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and had a lot of noise from above and some bratty kids next door. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you your very detailed feedback about your past stay with us in one of our whirlpool suites! We would have loved for you to bring up your concerns prior to check out or right after your arrival so we could have better assisted you! We do have microwaves and mini fridges in the guest rooms, right under your TV, and we do have multiple HDMI inputs to our TV's as well! We are glad to hear you did enjoy our new cable line up we just put in our guest rooms about a month ago! We have located your reservation, and next time you stay with us we will put you on a high floor to help avoid some of the noise issues you had during your time with us. If there is anything else we can do for you please feel free to reach out to me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Property: Red Roof Inn Ames
Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing