We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Go Wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Go Wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My son is a student at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, and when I visit him I always stay at the Hampton Inn. It's a very good value, with clean rooms and extremely friendly and helpful staff. A nice perk of staying there is the complimentary breakfast. I think that there is something in the breakfast for nearly everyone, even those, like my children, that might suffer from food allergies. The Hampton Inn is easily accessible from the highway, and yet it is just a ten minute drive from the campus. I think that it offers a good value for the price, and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 944janetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for everything you had to say about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our entire team's goal is to ensure you are 100% satisfied with your stay, and we are glad we met our goal! We just recently underwent a breakfast remix, and are glad to hear you enjoy all of our new items, we certainly do! We look forward to being a part of you and your family’s adventure at Iowa State University, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    112
    51
    34
    5
See reviews for
136
45
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

10 friends meet annually and my wife & I travel nationally & internationally but NONE of us have ever experienced a better hotel experience than this place. From the manager actually calling me prior to our arrival to the staff greeting us upon arrival. This hotel was not our 1st choice but since other hotels were full Hampton was available, to our good fortune! Hampton Inn is at the top of our list when traveling, but Ames Hampton Inn is the number one place to stay in Ames Iowa. Clean, quiet, close to attractions, easy to find and one GREAT STAFF that makes for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was great to see you during your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our entire team works very hard to ensure we are always exceeding our guest's expecations, and we are thrilled to hear we are now your number one choice when coming to the area! We have many exciting changes happening over the next year, and we look forward to sharing them with you! On behalf of our entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ames the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lisa Smart, the wonderfully entertaining Breakfast Attendant, really makes my day! She really is a priceless asset to the entire friendly and helpful staff at the Hampton Inn of Ames, Iowa. Thanks for brightening my day, Lisa!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for putting a smile on our team’s faces with your awesome review! We strongly believe the heart of our hotel comes from our team! Lisa was thrilled to hear your comments, you brightened her day! On behalf of our team in Ames, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was a bit worried when we ended up on the first floor (always prefer an upper floor room), but we were lucky to not have any late-night noise issues, despite being fairly close to the pool. The typical nice, clean Hampton room. Their wi-fi network was extremely slow, to the point that I disconnected from it and used my phone as a much faster wi-fi hotspot. The breakfast area was very small, but Hampton standards. Nice location, though, right off the highway. Didn't have much interaction with the staff, but they were nice folks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our Hampton! I have found your reservation and updated your Hilton Honors profile to ensure next time you stay with us we get you in a room on our top floor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, despite the issues you had with our wireless internet. I forwarded on your comments to our Stay Connected By AT&T team to see what went wrong! We are very excited to let our guests know that we are in the planning stages of opening a brand new Hampton Inn & Suites, set to open in 2015! We look forward to your continued loyality and we can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I'll start out by saying I hate staying in hotels. They are expensive, the beds are never comfortable, and the staff usually doesn't care. This wasn't true on my recent trip through Ames. A lot of hotels were sold out this weekend and with choices thinning we finally settled on this Hampton. My wife and I had had some engine troubles with our car so we got a late start. Needless to say, by the time we reached the hotel, we were exhausted. Upon entering the hotel we were greater warmly, check-in was fast, and to top things off we were handed hot fresh cookies. After we had settled in, we got a call on our phone in the room. This kind of confused us, but we answered it anyways. It turns out that it was the front desk calling to make sure we were comfortable. Ive stayed at many hotels and I've never had anyone check on me. Over all, the hotel is an older hotel yes, but what it lacks in the building itself, we feel it defiantly makes up for with the staff. I think they need to renovate the hotel or move the staff, but I still feel they are above and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for more cookies, and they will bring them to you
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to have practice in place. We did notice that all of their lighting is efficient and they have a clothes washing policy.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for putting a smile on our team's faces! Your review is exactly what we love to hear! We truly believe that our team is what makes our hotel the best in the area, and we are glad you could feel what we like to call "Hamptonality" from the moment you walked into our building! We are very happy to announce that we are in the planning stages of our building a brand new Hampton Inn and Suites, planned to open in 2015! If there is anything else we can do for you prior to your next visit please feel free to let anyone on our team know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I went to visit my son and my granddaughters and we always stay at this hotel as it close to my son/his wife. We always stay at this Hampton Inn because it is so nice and well kept. The location is really great as a church is close also, that my wife likes to attend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our Hampton! It is always great to see you and your family during your travels to Ames! We hope to see you again soon in a few months for your granddaughters upcoming birthday in May! If there is anything we can do for you prior to your next stay please let any one on our team know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

a good place to stay in Ames Iowa where the people are friendly, the hotel is comfortable, and the price is very affordable leaving little doubt that Hampton is the working-man's choice for a decent night's accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
"Real Value From Your Friends At Hampton" is one of our best mottos and your review reflects that we are a great choice when you are looking for real value! From free high speed internet, free breakfast, free coffee tea and hot chocolate you can't go wrong when booking at Hampton! On behalf of our entire team in Ames, we thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Property: Red Roof Inn Ames
Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing