We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn Ames
Nearby Hotels
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
133
116
54
38
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
116
54
38
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleaniowa statea nice place to staywaffleshot breakfasttracyialinensfacilityhighwayisu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 348 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stay at this Hotel often and am always greeted with a helpful friendly smile along with a warm cookie when you check in (evening). Andrea at the front desk is usually there for check in and always very friendly and engaging. I have stayed in many rooms on both floors and have never had a complaint on room condition or cleanliness. very comfortable beds with Large TV's and multiple plug ins for electronics fit my needs when I travel. Mornings always start with a nice warm breakfast with a lot of variety. Lisa makes sure she starts your day off with a smile. You tell her to have a good day and she will tell you to have a better one. They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for giving us a review on Trip Advisor! We strive to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel in Ames and we are happy to hear we were able to live up to our promise! We have shared your review with the team and they were excited to hear your comments. On behalf of all of us in Ames, we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and had a great experience. This time, the staff was exceptional but the heater did not work and we received space heaters until it was fixed the next day. the staff was Very helpful and we were not charged for the first night because of the problem. Otherwise, the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rzmz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide our team with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! Our team is very sorry about the unexpected issue you faced with your heater during your stay with us. Our commitment to service and quality is always backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee and we are glad to see we were able to utilize this tool and we were able to get the heater fixed for you as well! On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our Hampton, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our stay was great. We were in Ames for a aunt's funeral and had to book last minute. The staff at the Hampton were very helpful not only for us but our extended family as well. The 1st night when we walked into our room there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers from the hotel extending their sympathy to us for our loss. This to me was a very kind gesture, going above and beyond customer service. I will make the Hampton of Ames my #1 place to stay in Ames.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your great review! Our entire team was very sorry to hear about your loss and are glad we were able to help you and your entire family during your trip to Ames! Providing great guest service is what Hampton is known for! (We even gave it our own name - Hamptonality!) On behalf of all your friends at our Hampton Inn Ames, we are thrilled to hear we are your number one choice and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just overall sub-par compared to what I am used to. Checkin staff did not seem adequately trained. The rooms are very small. Halls smell like stale smoke. Breakfast fruit was uneatable (old/mushy) , Out of coffee, the area pool was so hot that it was uncomfortable, The fan in room was very loud and temperature hard to regulate. When I arrived Temp was at 78 degrees... I like it at 65. Temp was 70 degrees at departure at 9 am... Positives: The breakfast lady was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank VPdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we were sad to see we didn't meet your expectations with your heating cooling unit in your guest room, our breakfast items, front desk staff, and our swimming pool. Again, thank you for letting us know so we can work with our team to try and resolve these issues. We have reached out to you via email so we can honor our 100% Hampton Guarantee. We would love to have to back as I assure you this is not the usual experience at our Hampton! Our entire team looks forward to seeing you again for a more enjoyable experience next time your travels bring you to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a very nice small Hampton Inn. It is very warm and inviting. Lobby is small and quaint. Desk staff very welcoming and helpful. They had a map of Iowa State Univ. which is where we were heading and the gentleman at the desk gave us perfect directions. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was very quiet as well considering the parking lot was very full. The breakfast was small but good. They had several cereals, breads, muffins, waffle maker, yogurt and fruit. The hot breakfast consisted of an omelet, potatoes and sausage. I look forward to staying at this location again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for letting others know about your time with us at our Hampton! I'm very excited to share your review with our team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to visit Iowa State University! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews