We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand daughters birthday”
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

stayed here several times because of location to visit my sonhis wife and my grand children. One of my grand children was having her birthday(she was turning 2) and stayed to see her. The hotel we stayed at was really great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

1) at 11:15am, maid decided to knock on door, I didn't answer so she knocked harder...I answered, and pointed at the do not disturb sign on the door...she asked if I wanted service 2) breakfast items missing and not restocked three days in a row 3) put a bill for the wrong room under my door 4) thermostat did not work so we had to manually turn on and off 5) TV satellite stopped working...called the desk and they said it happens...unplug and plug back in

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 454RobertH454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel truly takes the extra steps that cause me to come back again and again. They always have friendly hotel staff, and take the time to put out snacks in the evening for guests. Those are the little things that really set this hotel apart from others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love Hampton Hotels, and I found this hotel to be a little run down and the furniture was beat up. the service was good and the rooms were clean, but not up to the same standards of other Hamptons I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Check-in was quick, people at front desk were very friendly and cooperative to needs. Continental breakfast covered everything from eggs, sausage, waffles, danish, yogurt and fruit. In the afternoon, cookies were put out for all guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this hotel after finding rooms unavailable for our stay at our preferred Country Inns and Suites based on the availability of in room fridge and microwave as well and the included breakfast. We got in late and the night clerk, while friendly and helpful, was not knowledgeable of the amenities in our room. Our room turned out to be perfect, aside from a slight glue odor from recent renovations.

A good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed and off for breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was beyond the standards we expected, and our hostess Lisa was truly amazing! She was the highlight of our stay and anticipated our needs before we knew what they were. She was very friendly and outgoing and made us truly feel at home. She is a HUGE asset to the company.

We would choose this hotel again as long as they have people like Lisa working there and can recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: King size is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Normally, one can count on a Hampton property. At check in there were two people talking to each other and it took a couple of minutes for them to acknowledge that we were standing there wanting to check in. We finally were helped and told (with a pointed finger) "your room is down the hall that way."

We stopped to check the pool, it was extremely over chlorinated. The room was OK, very noisy heater, though. Bedding nice and I do like the note that they post on the headboard that the duvet is clean.

Next morning the breakfast was absolutely unacceptable. A third person was standing in front of the front desk talking loudly with two behind the desk. They were sharing personal stories that no one in the breakfast area was interested in hearing. The orange juice was water, the bananas were black, the oatmeal was empty, two paper plates were left. Fruit tray was empty. Made a piece of toast. After 20 minutes the person in front of the desk suddenly comes over to "check" the breakfast. She refilled the orange juice container, found some better bananas, brought out fruit. If that was her job, she obviously should have taken some action at the beginning of the breakfast rather than at that time.

Very disappointing for a Hampton Inn. Hope they get some better help soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $61 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing