We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older, But Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
N.W. Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Older, But Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was nice to get here after a bit of tough driving conditions. We had an easy check-in and were told there would be a manager's reception about 5:30. When we went to check it out, it was soup, but a type that neither of us liked. Luckily, we hadn't planned on it, so had eaten an early dinner. The room was average and well maintained. It is easy to find and not far from the main part of Ames, just off the freeway. There was a fridge in the room, but no mic. We would stay here again. The breakfast had the usual Hampton offerings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDeere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    112
    50
    34
    4
See reviews for
135
45
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean like all Hampton Inns. We were checked in within 3 minutes of arrival. The room had exactly what we required. Checkout was quick and easy. We will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night and checked into #212 with 2 comfy double beds and updated bathroom (but no fridge). The toilet constantly ran so we were moved to #210. The kids were swimming at 9:30pm (no whirlpool) and my daughter said the toilet WAS OVERFLOWING ONTO THE FLOOR! I ran up and stopped the water (twisted the "float"), trudging thru WATER EVERYWHERE! We were switched to #205. When I showered in the morning, the water wasn't draining in the tub! The staff was very friendly, but no maintenance person working. The complimentary breakfast was EXCELLENT. Fresh steel-cut oatmeal with chopped walnuts, plump raisins, and "raw" brown sugar as toppings, waffle iron waffles, fresh fruit medley, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_in_Iowa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel for the price. We did not arrive until 10pm. I booked it on-line and my check-in took 2 minutes! Breakfast in the morning was as promised. We received directions to Iowa State from the front desk and checkout was quick and easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

In most cases, I can always count on Hampton Inns to have similar quality across the board when it comes to their rooms. This Hampton meets all the standards. A few of the things that disappointed me - only 2 sets of towels in the room, whereas I normally am used to having 4 available. The desk is right beside the heat/ac - which when you're there on business can be pretty annoying after it cranks up on you constantly every 15 minutes or so with warm or not so warm air.

The staff was very friendly and got me checked in quickly. Honestly, my stay is not over until a day from now, but it's been a great one so far.

My main complaint is with the television. ****this is more of a general gripe about hotels, but it applies to this property**** Yes, it is a nice big flat screen, but all the inputs are locked. It's fine if you want me to only be able to watch your pay per view movies and use your integrated Nintendo Gamecube (for real???), but don't have nice LCD TVs in a room with lots of inputs if you don't want to frustrate people, particularly business people, who wouldn't mind being able to connect their laptops up to a nice big 40"+ screen for doing work on, or the occasional netflix stream.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Hampton is currently being remodeled to have the new look of the more recently-built locations. The front desk service was invariably friendly and courteous (greeted us with a smile every time we returned from an outing), the outside noise minimal, and the breakfast typical of the Hampton chain. The location is great--close to the Interstate without the noise, close to Iowa State without the traffic, etc. Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom and linens were clean, the furniture was dusted, and there was a nice note on the bedside table from the lady who had prepared our room for us. This is a great choice for a few nights' stay; we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for an Iowa State football game weekend. It's extremely close to the stadium (less than two miles) and easy to access from I-35. It was undergoing renovations to the lobby area and the breakfast area was in a temporary location. It's an older Hampton Inn but the rooms were clean. Fairly quiet. The Fairfield Inn nearby looked much newer and more modern. I'd try there if we were to travel to Ames again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM_Auburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry that our renovation caused a disruption in your stay. Hopefully the next time you’re in the area you will see an improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Property: Red Roof Inn Ames
Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing