We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn Ames
Nearby Hotels
$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Gateway Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$84
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

AmericInn by Wyndham Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
133
116
54
38
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
116
54
38
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleana nice place to stayiowa statewafflestracyialinensfacilityisu
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 348 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean like all Hampton Inns. We were checked in within 3 minutes of arrival. The room had exactly what we required. Checkout was quick and easy. We will stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night and checked into #212 with 2 comfy double beds and updated bathroom (but no fridge). The toilet constantly ran so we were moved to #210. The kids were swimming at 9:30pm (no whirlpool) and my daughter said the toilet WAS OVERFLOWING ONTO THE FLOOR! I ran up and stopped the water (twisted the "float"), trudging thru WATER EVERYWHERE! We were switched to #205. When I showered in the morning, the water wasn't draining in the tub! The staff was very friendly, but no maintenance person working. The complimentary breakfast was EXCELLENT. Fresh steel-cut oatmeal with chopped walnuts, plump raisins, and "raw" brown sugar as toppings, waffle iron waffles, fresh fruit medley, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_in_Iowa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel for the price. We did not arrive until 10pm. I booked it on-line and my check-in took 2 minutes! Breakfast in the morning was as promised. We received directions to Iowa State from the front desk and checkout was quick and easy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

In most cases, I can always count on Hampton Inns to have similar quality across the board when it comes to their rooms. This Hampton meets all the standards. A few of the things that disappointed me - only 2 sets of towels in the room, whereas I normally am used to having 4 available. The desk is right beside the heat/ac - which when you're there on business can be pretty annoying after it cranks up on you constantly every 15 minutes or so with warm or not so warm air.

The staff was very friendly and got me checked in quickly. Honestly, my stay is not over until a day from now, but it's been a great one so far.

My main complaint is with the television. ****this is more of a general gripe about hotels, but it applies to this property**** Yes, it is a nice big flat screen, but all the inputs are locked. It's fine if you want me to only be able to watch your pay per view movies and use your integrated Nintendo Gamecube (for real???), but don't have nice LCD TVs in a room with lots of inputs if you don't want to frustrate people, particularly business people, who wouldn't mind being able to connect their laptops up to a nice big 40"+ screen for doing work on, or the occasional netflix stream.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Hampton is currently being remodeled to have the new look of the more recently-built locations. The front desk service was invariably friendly and courteous (greeted us with a smile every time we returned from an outing), the outside noise minimal, and the breakfast typical of the Hampton chain. The location is great--close to the Interstate without the noise, close to Iowa State without the traffic, etc. Our bed was comfortable, the bathroom and linens were clean, the furniture was dusted, and there was a nice note on the bedside table from the lady who had prepared our room for us. This is a great choice for a few nights' stay; we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews