We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly Hotel”
Review of Red Roof Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ames
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Range, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was a very clean, nice and friendly hotel. I would recommend it to anyone wanting nice hospitality. They are willing to do a lot to make your stay a pleasant, happy one. Although I didn't like how loud the heater was when it kicked on at night, it woke me up. But maybe there was a button to turn the blower down to make it quieter? Nice breakfast, and exercise room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifesgreat2dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, which will be shared with my Team! I know they will appreciate the recognition of a job well done. I am very proud that my Team made you feel welcome, safe and secure while away from home. We pride ourselves on guest Services and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hampton then next time you are in the area, and our team would be more then delighted to show you how to work our HVAC units in our guest rooms as there are different settings you can use!

Sincerely,
John Bustos
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    114
    52
    37
    6
See reviews for
140
45
17
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived on Saturday night and just stayed the one night. The desk staff on check in and check out were very friendly. The room was very clean with none of the usual musty"hotel smells". The breakfast the next morning was very good with plenty of food available. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnonvaca35651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your awesome review. I am so happy that my Team delivered the experience we want our guests to have when visiting Ames! I may be biased but I also think our breakfast is the BEST - and the hot items rotate every day, so there's a nice variety. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that my staff was able to assist you with your needs. It makes me very proud. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,
John Bustos
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Usually I love Hampton Inns. They were may favorite. However, this time I was disappointed. The room was two queen beds I think. They seemed like only full-sized beds. The room was very small and everything was very close. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the room was over priced. We stayed the next day of our trip at a Hilton Garden Inn in Nebraska and it was about the same price and WAY better for the money. Loved that one! Our room at the Hampton was very noisy as well. I do have to say that the staff was wonderful and I actually really liked the heater in our room. I am a very light sleeper and I hate it when the heater /air conditioner goes on and off all night. It wakes me up all night long. This one had the option to have a fan blowing the same speed all night long. I didn't even hear it cycle on and off. The bathroom was nice and there was free Internet access (most have that now anyway). This wasn't a horrible stay, just disappointing compared to all others I've stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your past stay with us at our Hampton! I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us. All of our rooms with two beds feature double beds, and then we have rooms with king size beds throughout the hotel as well! We also do provide minifridges and microwaves in all of our suites and guest rooms with king size beds and we will gladly provide them in our rooms with double beds upon request! We pride ourselves in having the best staff in the area and during this next year we have many exciting changes happening at our Hampton to ensure our Hampton matches the growing standards of all of our guests. Our many changes including our new Stay Connected Wireless Internet Systems, our new Jump Start Fitness Center and our new Perfect Mix Lobby! Our goal is to ensure your 100% satisfaction, and we are so sad to hear we did not do that. Please reach out to me via email or phone as I would love to hear from you. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
John Bustos
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The best of what is expected from a Hampton. I have had better breakfasts at Hampton's that compete up against stiffer competition. This was okay, and by far the best place to grab a bed and shower in Ames. The staff was GREAT!!! They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAmesMgmt, Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words - we are happy to be your "hometel" when you visit Ames! We look forward to your return the next time you are in the Ames area!

Sincerely,
John Bustos
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I love this hotel. I stay here once a month for work. The hotel staff is top notch and the rooms are all so cozy. The breakfast is good and the lady that runs it is super nice. I can't praise this facility enough.

Room Tip: I like the king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We always look for a Hampton Inn when we are traveling and as always, we were very happy with the whole experience with our stay in the Hampton Inn in Ames, IA!!! From amazing Josh that took our reservation to the wonderful upgrade CLEAN whirl pool tub spacious room that (jana I think, sorry) got ready for us. Everyone at the front desk and our sweet breakfast hostess even started our day off with a smile!! To top it off, we received a Thank You for staying with us letter from John! It was a great stay!! We will DEFINATELY come back! Thank you again Hampton Inn for being our place we can count on on the road!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tmulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Came back to Isu for business, also brought a friend and a their student to visit the campus. This time I upgraded to a room with a whirlpool and it was nothing less than amazing. We only stayed for one night and the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet and convient. The whirlpool was a nice addition and was definitely worth getting it. The flat pannel TVs were an great new addition. The Hampton Inn will be my one and only choice of hotels when i come to Ames.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TellsTheTruth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Property: Red Roof Inn Ames
Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Red Roof Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing