We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was surprised when I initially saw all the negative reviews. I thought this was a good hotel conveniently located close to Iowa State. Pretty neat hotel with all the ISU decorations and pictures. My only complaints are about the breakfast, which wasn't free and was average in quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advice_followed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although the hotel was older, the rooms themselves were in decent shape. The hallways were looking worn. The air conditioning dripping over the back entrance constantly was pretty gross as you couldn't avoid getting dripped on your head or the puddle on the ground. Breakfast should be included at this price, especially when the restaurant wanted $11.95 for adults. $36.00 for breakfast for the three of us in my family ain't happening. The staff was very pleasant, and the water features were nice, if slightly dated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriG215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I checked into this hotel for a conference in a college town. It's close to the conference site and has an excesive parking space. The hotel lobby and the decarative items in it told me that it's one of old style not quite following the modern trend, and my first impression was right after I got into my room.

My room is small, cozy, but a bit dark partially due to its low-ceiling, like the lobby ceiling. There is no central conditioning; air-conditioners are mounted below the windows. It's not as noisy as a typical window conditioner, but when all in the adjacent rooms are running at night, the noise level is enough to waken up anyone in sleep. To my surprise, I couldn't find a thermostat anywhere in the room for me to adjust the room tempreture to the one that I prefer. The noise and the hard-to-control room tempreture made my first-night real miserable and checked out the hotel the second day. I would rather drive an hour one way than stay in it for another overnight "getaway."

BTW, the front-desk staff are friendly and helpful. Their smiles once made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed at the Gateway 20 + times in the last several years, the last just this past weekend. While I enjoy the location and the always friendly staff, the hotel is looking shopworn and in need of repairs/upgrades. On my most recent stay the concrete at the entrance to the hotel was cracked and uneven and the steps had pieces broken out and in need of repair. My room was comfortable and the bed excellent, but the ceiling was cracked with several holes or pits visible. Housekeeping wasn't the best, I found a washcloth hanging on the shower curtain that had obviously been left by a previous visitor but not noticed when the room was cleaned; made me wonder what else was not cleaned and/or overlooked. To the hotel's credit they said they would comp my room when I told them of the washcloth, but I'm still waiting for the credit to appear on my card, and I'm also waiting for the gift certificate they promised to e-mail me.

I just hope the Gateway keeps up with repairs, etc. because I like to stay there due to its location and ties to Iowa State, but there are a number of nicer hotels in Ames now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank witaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Yes, it was a little annoying that the rooms did not have a mini-fridge, but we had a cooler along so it wasn't that big a deal. We don't drink coffee or use a microwave in a hotel room anyway, so the lack of those things meant nothing to us. Some parts of the room (ceiling, furniture) were dated but the beds were very comfortable and clean, there was a nice sized vanity in the bathroom where I could spread out my toiletries, and BEST OF ALL TO ME was the air conditioner made it nice and cold at night like I like and KEPT RUNNING, didn't turn on and off like some of air conditioners they put in many hotels these days. Kept me comfortable and not bothered by noise from the hall or outside. We really enjoyed the Iowa Stater restaurant for cocktails and hooking up with friends, the bartenders were excellent, especially "Butch"! I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat, it was very close to Iowa State University where we attended a wedding and enjoyed seeing the beautiful campus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitroliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

In the world of Drury and Hampton Inns, this place is just so-so. You'll get cable and internet, but certainly no fridge in the room, no newspaper/breakfast/etc. Even the coffeemaker in our room had hair in it...ewww. The landscaping is nice, and the pool was warm, but the hotel overall is very dated on the inside. Our room was musty and the carpet felt damp even with the AC running. The curtains were heavily water-stained, beds and pillows were so-so. The receptionist who checked us in was fantastic, but the staff smoking near the parking lot was a big negative. The walls are thin enough that you can easily hear people in the room next to you talking, and can hear everyone in the hallways. Hate to say it, but I would definitely not stay at the Gateway again.

Room Tip: Avoid the elevator or anywhere people congregate, as the walls/doors are very much not sound-proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was walking through the lobby at gateway and there where three people at the front desk, two of the employees started yelling at the other one. I could not believe it. I will never stay here again if that how there employees treat each other. I was to frighten to go up and check out, so I just left my key in my room

weiss

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2100 Green Hills Dr, US HWY 30 & University Drive, Ames, IA 50014
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $120 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel & Conference Center At Iowa State University is the largest full-service hotel & conference center in Ames, Iowa. Located at the entrance to Iowa State University on Highway 30 and University Blvd. It is the closet hotel to the Iowa State Center, ISU Research Park, Reiman Gardens, and Ames Airport. Developed by the leadership of Iowa State University on 14 acres of beautiful lawns, trees, and cattails, next to the Gateway Green Hills Park with 1.5 miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Ames
Hotel Gateway Center
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing