We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice hotel Beds were great, flat screen tv, nice desk area to work. Room and bathroom were large. I would like to see more accessible outlets for cell phone and laptop. shouldn't have to crawl under desk to plug in. There was only 1 available plug next to bed. shower could use an update, drain plug was out and shower curtain was cheap. I didn't use restaurant or pool, but hotel was well maintained and inviting. Stayed one night, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Gateway this week for three nights. It is a nice and clean hotel, but lacked in one way - electical outlets! In the day we live in, with all the electronic gadgets we use in our day-to-day lives, you would think any hotel would pay more attention to this. There are ways to help - even when the wiring may have been done long enough ago that the need was less. Pretty disappointed in that aspect. Another problem I experienced was the heater. Not very good at keeping the room constant. I am generally trying to cool the rooms down, but I was cold here! I left a note one day to have someone look at it, and it seemed to be working when I got back. Didn't last long until it was cold again. I actually unplugged the unit. Not a good solution, but I was tired of having cool air blowing.

Room Tip: Room 713 is by the elevator, but quiet. Heater was not very good. Few electrical outlets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times but each time we see more and more items that need attending. The carpet on the way to the newly renovated restaurant is old, worn and dangerously buckling. Anyone with a handicap using a walker, cane, or wheelchair would find this a scary walk.

We LOVE the sauna, and whirlpool so that is what keeps us coming back, but the rest of the hotel needs to be kept up to date. The elevators are old, dirty, have bad carpeting and sound scary when climbing up to the higher floors.

Staff has always been extremely accommodating and kind.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equal as we've tried many locations. All above average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISUmom_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend while visiting our college student grandson. Convenient to campus and clean, but not as well maintained as some chains having the same daily rate. Layout is strange & the Executive Center rooms not easily accessible. Found some burned out lightbulbs on entering. Housekeeping didn't arrive until 5PM for daily room cleaning. Front desk said that was normal for those staying over. No fridge or microwave available. No complimentary breakfast & that served in the dining room was expensive & mediocre - no better than some of those included in the chain hotels. Pillows were hard. Probably will try another hotel on future trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajh9Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good location for my reason for being in Ames, close to campus, and restaurants not far away by car. Stayed here one night for a conference. The executive king room was clean and nicely decorated, bed comfortable. Very quiet except for the heat unit, which actually worked too well, I only had it on for a brief time and it made the room too warm for comfortable sleeping (at least for me). The clerks at the front desk were really pleasant and helpful and made me feel welcome. I can't comment on the breakfast, because although I had a coupon for a free buffet meal, they didn't start serving until 6:30 (on a week day) and my schedule didn't allow me time to have breakfast. It would be great if they could start at 6:00 instead. Otherwise a pleasant stay and I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin02907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I came to Ames to visit a friend at ISU. I decided to try the Gayeway because the rooms looked nice and the location was good. I was completely satisfied with both. The room, one of the larger executive king rooms was well appointed and the bed was very comphy. I was surprised that the room only had a shower. I was expecting a bath and shower.
Soon after I occupied the room I found it cold. So I went to turn on the heat. No heat. I tried just the fan. No fan. I called the front desk and they tell me that I can only heat the room 20 degrees above the outdoor temperature. Since it was a nice warm 48 degrees outside (lol) I couldn't heat the room. This did not bode well for someone paying for an executive room. But she assured me that it would work later that night "when it gets colder!" But when I returned from my night out with friends.... No heat. The room was not cold, but chilly - I must have been benefiting from the heat in the hallway. It being late, me being tired and in no mood to stay up waiting for maintenance, I took to the bed where the comphie comforter did a great job keeping me warm.
I spoke with the reception desk in the morning. They apologized and had the problem resolved by the time I finished breakfast. Later they called and told me that they had comped me for the room and breakfast. I was not expecting nor requesting the comp but I accepted their generosity.
I'm undecided whether I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seavapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall a nice hotel, big rooms (furniture a bit outdated). Bathroom was OK but a remodeling will make it much better. Good set of amenities. The A/C unit was too noise, had to turn it off. The restaurant is OK (we had to eat there a few nights because there is nothing close but Pizza delivery). However, if you eat at the restaurant plan to have dinner early. The first night we arrived late and the restaurant was still open I ordered a squash fettuccini and it was not good. However, next day my colleague ordered the same dish and it was completely different!. The staff were always polite and helpful. The really downside of the hotel is the location, it is 10-15 mins walk to the university campus (or stadium), but if you are going downtown and don't have time to walk then you just need to take a taxi. Just because of the location I would be hesitant to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2100 Green Hills Dr, US HWY 30 & University Drive, Ames, IA 50014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $101 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel & Conference Center At Iowa State University is the largest full-service hotel & conference center in Ames, Iowa. Located at the entrance to Iowa State University on Highway 30 and University Blvd. It is the closet hotel to the Iowa State Center, ISU Research Park, Reiman Gardens, and Ames Airport. Developed by the leadership of Iowa State University on 14 acres of beautiful lawns, trees, and cattails, next to the Gateway Green Hills Park with 1.5 miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Ames
Hotel Gateway Center
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing