We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of pastry”
Review of Dutch Oven Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dutch Oven Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Ames
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of pastry”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great bakery, with a lot of tasty, rich, fattening good stuff! I have never had anything in there that was anything but delicious. They even serve a good tea room type lunch menu! Great tasting soups and sandwiches, and then you can have dessert!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SirdaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames,IA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good light lunch and bakery”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good place to get soup and salad and sandwich type lunch food. I believe they also have breakfast but am not sure.
Not exceptional but good service and pretty fast, cozy atmosphere, Good choice of sandwiches and home made soup. Comes with cookie.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank graceandmercy2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery - great place to meet friends!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This small bakery does all their own baking, not something you can say about many of them today. It has a warm and cozy atmosphere. You can choose pastries from the glass cases up front, get coffee or tea and then take a table and sit back and relax. A wonderful place to get away with your favorite book or to meet friends and catch up. Can't say enough good things about the Dutch Oven Bakery!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molly-Mayrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Boone location - LOVE LOVE LOVE IT”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is by far my most favorite bakery I have ever been to. I love going there and having coffee and a treat whenever I'm in town. We usually go more than once or twice during the time I'm there. They have the best cakes and cookies and pastries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSL9965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bakery!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Dutch Oven Bakery offers delicious Dutch pastries along with traditional pastries and breads. Their cakes are the best! Their sandwiches and soups are always good. They also have great speciality coffees. The staff is fabulous and friendly! You can't go wrong with anything at Dutch Oven Bakery. Don't miss it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Oven Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Oven Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing