We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay open during Dinner if you Don't Serve Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dutch Oven Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dutch Oven Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Ames
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
353 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Don't stay open during Dinner if you Don't Serve Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Showed up at 4:45pm, was informed that the grill was shut off. All available was chicken salad (bland) and chili (also bland and not hot). Staff acted like we were intruding. Won't be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A variety of great items at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I love Dutch Oven for breakfast or for lunch. Their Dutch Letters are awesome, as are all of their pastries. For lunch, they have great soups and sandwiches - try a sandwich on the raisin bread!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dutch Letters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

A great place to buy cakes. They do a great job. Love the Dutch letters and almond horns. They have great donuts and coffee. The bread is what you would find in a 1980 bakery.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LovetheQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Always consistent. always fresh. Love the charm of these bakeries. We have one in Boone.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonfeathr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little bakery, but it is the only bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having just moved to Ames last summer, we miss bakeries. Clarification: we REALLY miss bakeries. This is the only one. I can't stand eating freshly grilled food on a fake, processed bun, like "Wonder", etc.

We bought hamburger buns, almond something-or-others, and bread. All was good, fresh and had nice flavors of their own. Not a real big variety but nice enough. Not disappointed. Will go back since there is nowhere else to go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victorious1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dutch Oven Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing