We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great California Mexican in the middle of Iowa”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #6 of 188 Restaurants in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great California Mexican in the middle of Iowa”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not a chain, there are two locations in Ames, one on the north side and one on the south. Great lunches and quick service. There is also a good seafood selection if you like Mexican seafood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank groggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    71
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“non-NM Mexican food”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

For non-NM mexican food AND a chain, it was pretty darn good. And plenty of it. The fact that it is right across the parking lot from our hotel was convenient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shesam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was stuck at local hotel without a car and would say that there are better and worse mexican restaurants. Service was excellent and bill was very inexpensive. Not too many options in the area tho.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
298 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good CollegeTown Mexican place”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We eat here fairly often, and the result is pretty consistent. Service is very good, margaritas are great (but pricy), shrimp tacos are my favorite and wife loves the lime chicken. Like most places, the cheese dip is too watery. But overall, a good place for local Mexican.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank porkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cinco de May!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant not remembering it was May 5th so it was a little busier than we expected... but everything was outstanding. If they can do this good in a crush imagine how there are on a regular day. Another new favorite restaurant in Ames Iowa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing