We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy shop with excellent coffee!”

Burgie's Espresso Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Ames
Restaurant details
midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy shop with excellent coffee!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Love this cozy little coffee shop hidden away at the gas station. They made a fabulous cappuccino that is well worth the trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Shake”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Best Chocolate Shake ever! Made with hard packed chocolate ice cream and not just soft serve vanilla with cheap chocolate sauce. Real chocolate flavor. We go out of our way to stop for one.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AChumbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Once Great...”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I used to love Burgie's. Lately, their hot coffee drinks have been just okay, and they're more expensive than Starbucks. Their Jamocha Shake has been a long-time favorite (but only if you're prepared to down 1000+ calories in one drink). They're okay, every once in awhile, but there's better coffee shops out there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Quick Stop”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

As far as I know, everything is great. The coffee & tea there, best I've ever had. Guess I need to get past those great things and try the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very gourmet selection and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

First time visitor. I was impressed by the selections of coffees that I could order and take with me. We got a nice variety as gifts for friends, and they offered me a free cup of coffee while they were grinding the beans. They were also offering a new Coffee of Excellence program with elite coffees from single source farms around the world. I thought this was a unique idea, and can't wait to get home to try my new Costa Rican CoE coffee. It was a nice place to stop and have a warm, inviting cup of high quality coffee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgie's Espresso Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Burgie's Espresso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing