We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at ames quality inn the week of jan 14th till 17th of 2013.I all so stayed a couple years ago for 5 to 6 months when Ken Anderson was manager was a supurb stay.The last was terrible i complained about 3 to 4 inches of water in shower front desk said they were working on it. Also the towel rack fell off wall left lay all week.went to bar 1 nite waited 10 minutes with 4 other guys a youg kid came in said i had to leave because there was a private party in the bar so he kicked me out.There was bugs in bathroom no big deal but could have offered to move but that was never offered.Iwas booked again for 2 to 3 months but cancelled went to holliday inn.My name is Tim Marlow billed through dgr engineners.You may call me at 507-530-3164 if you want to talk to me in person.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel however the pool is very cold. We were very excited about having a room so close to the pool so that was somewhat of a letdown. It would also be nice if this hotel had a spa however I don't think there is a spot for one. The rooms are nice I love to see how that of flat screen televisions looked.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Most of the rooms face out to the pool. Do not get one of these rooms! At 4:45 the staff starts clanging around to set up the continental breakfast and making as much noise as they possibly can. This area is adjacent to the pool. For over an hour until just before 6am the noise and their talking had to have woken up half the hotel. Pool was also cloudy. Yuck!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creighton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Quality Inn in Ames IA in November 2012. They have just done a remodel of their facility. I enjoyed my stay. I had a clean comfortable room on the second floor that was quite even though it overlooked the pool. I did stay Monday through Thursday however so no overcrowded pool on the weekend. The breakfast is nice and well kept up. This facility actually has a person dedicated to the breakfast area. The free High speed wireless was great and worked without a hiccup. Front desk staff are very polite and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckEIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. King room, fridge, micro. Overlooked the pool, but didn't hear too much noise. We were directly over the breakfast area, and there wasn't much bleed. Nice room, clean, well- appointed, very comfortable. Noticeable new updates since our last visit..very welcome and needed! The worst part was the door slamming. We were in an area with some grade school girls who were poorly supervised, ran and screamed in the hall way too much very early in the morning. Conversely, the 100 or so high school musicians staying there were a credit to their generation. Staff was very pleasant. Restaurant was good, but a slow night, so wait staff watched more TV than checked on customers. Still, pleasant experience. Room was clean, bathroom very nice, complete with tile shower which replaced the old tub/shower combo. Very nice. Nice tall vanity. Would recommend to any one.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank RBC1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times and one thing I will say is that the front desk staff is ALWAYS courteous and helpful. They seem to be in the process of upgrading their rooms, such as new bedding, bedroom furniture, and HD flat panel TV's, and bathrooms. But I have not seen any rooms fully renovated. My bed was great. The bathroom was nasty. Ceiling tiles were stained from leaks, shower/tub combo had old fixtures with poor temperature control, and the sink area is tiny and separate from the bathroom.

All of that is manageable and overall, my stay was comfortable. BUT...... I was completely turned off from this property when I went to breakfast that morning. The juice was sour, the muffins were stale. After tossing the muffins into the trash, I was ready to grab some of the eggs until I saw the attendant bring a fresh pan, and proceed to put the new eggs into the tray with her BARE HAND! She had one hand gloved, and one hand uncovered, and used the gloved hand to hold the tray, and her bare hand (is it washed, unwashed, just back from the bathroom???) to scoop out the eggs!

This is just simply unacceptable, and probably breaks health code. Hopefully the great management of this hotel reads these reviews so that they can address this with their workers.

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast here!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NordicBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Terrible hotel. Third floor where we stayed reeked of cigarette smoke, enough where a guy had to put a towel down at the foot of the door, to keep the smell out of the room. Turned on the room heater, as it was a cold night, which must have scorched the dust residing in the heater, which in turn, set off the smoke alarm. Carpet was terribly dirty in the room, the only vacuum this room saw would have been in the TV commercials. At this point, we decided to make the best of it anyway. Took the kids to the pool. Pool was as cold as a December night, was the way my six year old put it. That was serious. An 8 and 6 year old who would not enter the pool after driving for 9 hours and who love the water. The staff were friendly, kudos to them. First time stay at a QInn...I'll be driving on by in the future.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center

Address: 2601 E 13th St, Ames, IA 50010-8606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ames
Ames Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing