We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Bessemer, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was pleased with the front desk staff and breakfast, not so much with the cleanliness of my room. I had to be transfered due to this. Because I am a Marriott rewards member, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleantraveler205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
44
14
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. But we found the property to be very nice. Clean, friendly, convenient to Hilton Arena and comfortable. We stay in many Marriott properties and this is a nice Fairfield. We were warned that there was some renovation work going on, but we weren't there during work hours. It's a good sign that they are continuing to improve - our room must have already been done because it was very nice. The shower was very large and nice, but no tub. Breakfast was better than most Fairfield's.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightway4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was clean although, the tiles in the bathroom have begun loosening from the wall and should be re-grouted. The free breakfast is included and has healthy options like fresh fruit and oatmeal. There are many other traditional offerings as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Marriott Reward Member and travel to DM area alot for work. Normally stay in DM but had work to do up north so chose this location in Ames. Bad mistake. Rooms not that clean, not in line with similar Fairfield properties. Gym is bare minimum and not clean at all. Breakfast was ok but not anything special (mostly cereals and breads). I will not return, will drive the extra distance to get to the nicer DM locations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
300 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here recently on a weekend getaway. Unfortunately, it was move-in weekend for some of the college students, so rooms were pretty booked. This hotel does not appear to have been kept up very well. Our room was not the cleanest either. The breakfast buffet was ok. The desk clerk was very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriotts but generally not a fan of Fairfields. Often for the same money you can stay at one of Marriott’s or a competitors “higher end” lines. However, this location and another in Dubuque, Iowa made me think twice.

Pros—Direct TV with guide and correct remote like watching at home! When traveling on business you need to be able to veg out. Often hotel cable is a limited number of channels but this one has the full satellite range.

Quiet, clean

Every room (according to front desk) has a refrigerator and microwave.
Nice looking pool.

Cons—Farifield now promote a hot breakfast. I found it to be a hot continental with turkey sausage and Canadian bacon. Holiday Inn Express has a better hot breakfast for this price point. I prefer actual pork sausage.

Workout facility is bare minimum but not surprise for this size hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfishcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is my third time staying at this property in three years, and I am in Ames on business all the time and am a Marriott Platinum member. I almost always stay 40 minutes away in Ankeny because this place is so bad. It has been over a year, so I thought I would try it again... Worst mistake I could have made

Internet does not work, although they say it does...
Heater in Room was broken
Floor was dirty and room was dusty
Girl at desk hardly speaks English

At least it wasn't the Bates Motel

Room Tip: Stay at any other property in Ames
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gruffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Address: 2137 Isaac Newton Dr, Ames, IA 50010-8216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ames
Fairfield Inn Ames
Fairfield Ames
Ames Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing