We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms with Microwave and Refrigerator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms with Microwave and Refrigerator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriotts but generally not a fan of Fairfields. Often for the same money you can stay at one of Marriott’s or a competitors “higher end” lines. However, this location and another in Dubuque, Iowa made me think twice.

Pros—Direct TV with guide and correct remote like watching at home! When traveling on business you need to be able to veg out. Often hotel cable is a limited number of channels but this one has the full satellite range.

Quiet, clean

Every room (according to front desk) has a refrigerator and microwave.
Nice looking pool.

Cons—Farifield now promote a hot breakfast. I found it to be a hot continental with turkey sausage and Canadian bacon. Holiday Inn Express has a better hot breakfast for this price point. I prefer actual pork sausage.

Workout facility is bare minimum but not surprise for this size hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfishcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    50
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
44
14
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is my third time staying at this property in three years, and I am in Ames on business all the time and am a Marriott Platinum member. I almost always stay 40 minutes away in Ankeny because this place is so bad. It has been over a year, so I thought I would try it again... Worst mistake I could have made

Internet does not work, although they say it does...
Heater in Room was broken
Floor was dirty and room was dusty
Girl at desk hardly speaks English

At least it wasn't the Bates Motel

Room Tip: Stay at any other property in Ames
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gruffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a typical Fairfield Inn, what sets this one apart is the staff!!! Good breakfast too! We have stayed there 4 nights and we make sure we go back to this hotel when we go to Ames! The pool is SMALL!!! That's the only complaint I would have!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvCollegeFootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for this outstanding review of our hotel & staff! We at the Ames Fairfield Inn & Suites constantly strive to give our guests the most pleasing experience possible. We believe in Mr. Marriott's "Spirit to Serve" philosophy and will continue to work hard at giving you the excellence that Marriott Hotels are known for worldwide!

Kind Regards,
Gary Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

New location and very clean and convenient. RIght on the NW corner of I-35 and Hwy 30. Chose the king suite and had lots of room to work. Lots of plugins for chargers and good room layout. Mid week so mainly business travelers. Workout room had issues. No AC and one of the three pieces of equipment was broken. Had to ask for wipes to clean the equipment. But they were responsive at the front desk.

Limited breakfast selections but quick in and out.

Room Tip: no restaurants close for walking so plan ahead before you unpack and unload
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is your typical highway Fairfield. Easy access, large parking lot, large suites, an ample breakfast room, and you can be at ISU in 10 minutes. Would likely stay here again on my next visit to Ames.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jmtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and had driven several hours to get there. Our check in time was 3:00, but the wedding was at 2:00. We arrived shortly after 12:00 and I asked if we could check in early. They told the rooms had not been cleaned, but they would let the cleaning staff know. We grabbed a quick lunch and returned at 12:30. Both rooms were ready and they let us check in. It was much appreciated. Breakfast was good the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I read the rave reviews about this hotel and was not disappointed! Our group had two rooms, which were both spotless, with attractive decor, including the pictures. I know this is a small point, but details really matter to me and the art in our rooms was lovely. Not the usual bland, generic
pictures you normally find in a hotel! The beds were great and we appreciated having both a microwave and fridge in the rooms. The whole hotel was really well cared for, clean and really pleasant. All the staff we interacted with were guenuinely friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Our son starts grad school at ISU in August and we will definitely stay at this hotel then when we move him in, as well as whenever we're in Ames to visit him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisAddict1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
On behalf of my entire team I wish to thank you for the review you supplied of our property in Ames. It is always humbling when we get such kind words about both our staff and our property! It is a pleasure to serve our loyal guests and we will continue to make guest service our top priority. We are very proud of Ames and Iowa State University and look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Robertson
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Address: 2137 Isaac Newton Dr, Ames, IA 50010-8216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Fairfield Inn And Suites Ames
Fairfield Inn Ames
Fairfield Ames
Ames Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing