We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay can't say enough good things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
iowarose27
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay can't say enough good things”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

A friend and I stayed in the two bedroom handicap suite when we went to the sugarland concert in ames. I am in a wheelchair and a right leg amputee.The room was more then I expected as for those of us who know some rooms are not as handicap friendly as others. It had the fold down bench in the shower, the hand held shower head, grab bars in the bathroom where they should be, and was able to get around everywhere in the room, even in the kitchen and the bedrooms very spacious.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with questions and directions. It was a great location close to the campus and shopping and resturants. If you do go to ames you have to eat at Hickory Park great place to eat.
The breakfast had lots of variety if you couldn't find something you liked you have to be very picky. It was very clean and I can't say enough good about this hotel. My friend and I plan on going back soon and taking our children as this room had plenty of room and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowarose27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    71
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
130
20
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Hotel and room were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the ability to prepare our own meals in our room. The dishes, utensils and cookware were sufficent for simple cooking. Everything nearby (restaurants, discount retail stores, freeway). If I have to be critical, I was displeased with the free wireless internet service. It was infrequently connecting and frustrating. The hotel allows pets, so watch out for pet waste in the grass! I will stay here again if I ever go back to Iowa!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I was curious about this hotel from the various reviews and the details available on the hotel website. I couldn't understand how a hotel that appeared to be very nice on the surface could be so inexpensive.

The hotel has a nice appearance inside and out, as do the rooms. You really get a one bedroom suite with a nice living room and kitchen, and the wireless access works well. Front desk service was good, though not always visible. Rooms were clean, quiet, and secure.

I could see where the corners were cut to get the price, and most of them don't really matter to me. The minimal breakfast is no problem since I'm not a big breakfast eater (though I do appreciate a really good one). The cheap towels were somewhat annoying. The way too soft full size bed was a real problem as we struggled to find a comfortable sleeping position.

The hotel has a nice location just off Duff with several good restaurants within easy walking (Fuji steakhouse, pizza place, Applebee's, Hickory Park) and even more with a short drive.

Though I didn't have enough time to appreciate them, the workout facilities looked adequate with a treadmill, bike, and elliptical (though the resistance didn't work). The pool and hot tub were small, but good for family play.

If you don't mind the cut corners, this is a good place to stay. If those things matter, you should find another place.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Too soft bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

This is a very nice, clean hotel with a friendly staff and a better than average continental breakfast. I have stayed here twice and not been disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and suite type rooms
  • Disliked — Exercise room was very hot
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubcapReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Stayed here for a week while attending a training course. Great room for the price. Very clean and a pretty good breakfast with sausage, egg, waffles, cereal, pastries and bagels. Connected to an Old Chicago Restuarant to make it an easy dinner time meal. My room also had a microwave, full fridge, stove, and dishwaser. (even though the maid washed my dishes for me!). Great location too, real close to movie theater, shopping center, and a short drive to dowtown.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank E_Munk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2008

I was very unhappy with my stay at the Grandstay! I was part of a wedding block and found that the staff was not very happy with wedding block visitors. The night service and management was the worst!! The night manager took it upon himself to threaten all the young late comers as they entered the hotel, focusing mostly on the wedding party. He was arrogant and very rude, assuming that just because people were coming from a wedding meant they were going to be loud and obnoxious which was not the case! I have never felt unwanted at a hotel until that night, I would highly reccommend not staying there anytime, especially for weddings.

  • Disliked — hotel staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smrIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We had many of our wedding guests stay at this hotel and strongly regret it!

When we told the hotel that we needed to reserve a block of rooms for a wedding, they directed us to their event coordinator. The room price that the coordinator gave as was $30/night more than what I was originally told by the front desk. We decided to call back another time and reserve the rooms at the front desk so that we could get the lower price (not telling them it was for a wedding).

Three weeks before our wedding the hotel found that we had bypassed their event coordinator and ironically lost our reservations. After several phone calls with the manager and digging up my confirmation numbers, I was finally able to get the original rooms reserved again but couldn't add anymore rooms (they claimed they were full).

To ensure that I reserved enough rooms, I asked my family to call the hotel and make their own reservations. I had found that the hotel was telling family members with the same last name as mine that there were no more rooms available. Other family had no problems getting rooms booked. We had been black listed for not booking the rooms with the event coordinator at a more expensive price.

Several calls were made to the front desk and the manager's office and I concluded that the whole staff was in on this little scheme! Everyone had a room the night of the wedding, but it was extra stress that was not needed! I will not be staying there again.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Tae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Address: 1606 S Kellogg Ave, Ames, IA 50010-8000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay(R) Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Interstate 35 at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation! With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is perfect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing