We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

WE were traveling home from a road trip and looking for a hotel for one night. Looked at several others but didn't want to pay a lot for just one night. Found GrandStay and they had openings. Less than $100.00 so we took it. Walked into our room and said "Wow"! Beautiful! Seperate bedroom, kitchen, nice desk if you are there on business. Couch in the living area with a TV and also TV in the bedroom. Absolutely beautiful! Would highly recommend! If it were more expensive we would not have booked it! We appreciate the price on a Saturday night stay!

Room Tip: I think they are all suites so how can you do wrong! Plus, Old Chicago restraunt is attached to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaBwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate hearing from our guests, espeically people like you. As a hotel, we like to know what we did and did not do to make your stay with us most enjoyable.

I'm glad we were able to "WOW" you with our all bedroom suites, living room, kitchen and bathroom. We get many compliments regarding the door separation from the bedroom. We also make everyone's stay grand offering a full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and stove top. We do supply all the needed utensils and dishware to serve and eat as an extra touch.

We hope you visit us again when you're traveling through Ames on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales - General Manager
GrandStay Residential Suites-Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    67
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
123
19
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located close to Hwy 30 with easy access to Iowa State University. The desk staff is extraordinarily accommodating and helpful. The suites are nicely furnished with modern décor and are clean and functional. Outlets are convenient to bedside for surfing while relaxing and the internet is quick, reliable, and free. The TV channel selection could be a bit better, but you can't have everything. The cleaning schedule is every other day which lowers the room rate, so you need to do your own housekeeping in between servicing. There are 2 gyms within walking distance, and one has an agreement with the hotel for free use. There is a breakfast service which is good. There is also an assortment of dining choices within walking or short driving distance. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey about our property.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and enjoy hearing the wonderful reviews about our hotel. We like to know we made your stay enjoyable during your trip to Ames, Iowa. We are definitely conveniently located in the heart of Ames for travelers. We are the closest hotel to Iowa State University and within walking distance to many great restaurants, shopping and a movie theater.

We take pride in our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the amenities we offer. We are in the process of upgrading all of our TVs to flat screens. As soon as this is completed, a new version of a TV/channel guide will be added to all our guest rooms. Like you stated, we are an extended stay hotel, but we do cater to daily and weekly guests. Our housekeeping schedule is only three days a week or as needed for our extended stay guests. We do have Front Desk, Housekeeping and Maintenance available daily to take care of anything you need.

Thank you again for your Trip Advisor review!

Michele Morales-GM
GrandStay Residential Suites-Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful stay. Nice sized one bedroom suite. Two TVs. Housekeeping friendly. Nice pool and hot tub.

Breakfast was tasty every day. We didn't use the kitchen, but everything was nice and clean.

If I find myself needing to stay overnight in Ames, they would be top on my list

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate hearing from our guests and knowing what we did to make your stay enjoyable, as well as what we can do to improve future stays of our guests.

We take pride in our hotel, the cleanliness and the amenities we offer each and every guest. It's guests like you that we appreciate, letting everyone know what your experience was like.

We look forward to your stay with us in the future if you should ever be in the Ames area again.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales-GM
GrandStay Residential Suites-Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
375 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice suites although a little on the smaller side. Felt a bit cramped, but the rooms were clean and was the halls and stairways. Daily breakfasts (waffles, cereals, limited fruit, and an egg burrito or omelettes) are good. There is an indoor pool, although, again, a little on the smaller side. All in all, if you are staying in Ames, have a grand stay at the GrandStay Residential Suites hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We enjoy hearing from our guests and knowing what we did to make your stay enjoyable, as well as what we can do to improve the stay of others in the future. We like hearing how guests enjoy our suites, our large continental breakfast, and the cleanliness of our guest rooms and public areas. We take pride in the cleanliness of our property as a TEAM.

We definitely want all of our guest to have a "Grand" stay at the GrandStay Residential Suites. We hope the next time you're in the Ames area, you'll stay with us again. We look forward to having people like you stay with us again and again.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales-GM
GrandStay Residential Suites-Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We paid $200+ per night for a 2 room suite with full kitchen. The kitchen came with 2 forks, 3 spoons, 4 table knives, misc. plates/bowls/cups. No frying pan, just one medium sized stock pot. The one cup coffee maker leaked half the coffee through the bottom and all over the counter. We requested a frying pan and a couple forks (we had 4 in our family) and were told that the rooms varied in what is in the kitchen and that 'you get what you get'.

We also didn't realize that there is no daily housekeeping. We asked for clean towels the second day and were told the room came with towels and that is all you get for the stay. The bath room had one tissue in the holder. Again when we asked for a new box we were told that no restocking of paper products were included.

We liked the room overall, but just be aware that you can't count on what will be in your 'kitchen' and bring your own supplies as far as paper products (tissue, toilet paper, paper towels, etc.) And either bring towels or reuse the ones you get...we made the mistake of putting ours in the basket in the bathroom and got to use soggy towels the second day;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear R&M Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We find your reviews and comments very disturbing. You stayed this past weekend which was Iowa State University's Family Weekend, as well as a football game weekend. Rates do increase when we have large events in the Ames area, including events at the college.

Our property is an all suite property, catered to exteded stay guests. We have One and Two Bedroom Suites. The room that you stayed in was our One Bedroom Suite. We apologize your rooms wasn't fully supplied with the kitchen items you were needing. A simple call down to the Front Desk asking for these items and we would've been happy to bring them to your room.

We also noticed you had an issue with Housekeeping. We do have daily Housekeeping available for all our our guest rooms. We noticed the room (Room 218) you stayed in did have the "Do Not Disturb" sign posted on the door when Housekeeping came to your room on Saturday to clean. When this sign is posted, Housekeeping is not to bother you. Housekeeping finished their day at 2:30 p.m on Saturday. Again, a simple call down to the Front Desk and we would've been happy to bring you fresh towels, linens, extra toilet paper/kleenex, etc. We have someone available at the Front Desk 24 hours a day. Our number one goal/mission is our guests and our Customer Service. We find it very hard to believe our Front Desk employee responded back to you with those comments. The employees on staff that day are long-term employees that have been here for quite some time and know our goal and mission as a hotel.

We hope you reconsider your feelings regarding the GrandStay Residential Suites and give us another opportunity to show you what our hotel has to offer you and your family.

Thank you!

Sincerely,
Michele Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Grandstay Hotel is the place to stay if your visiting Ames or for long term stay. Hotel is VERY CLEAN and spacious. Hot breakfast severed daily. Hotel is in walking distance of several stores and restaurants. Everyone that works here are Friendly and welcoming. My husband and I travel alot and this hotel is by far the best we have stayed in. Hotel is pet friendly with fencned back yard so your dogs can get some exercise. The hotel is kept up well, they even had carpet cleaned during our stay. The manger Michelle is the best. Thanks Grandstay for the hospitality and a GRANDSTAY!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjm3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Joanna,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback. We enjoy hearing from our guests and their experience with our staff and property. It's great know you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed our amenities, especially our breakfast and our fenced in area out back for your puppies.

It was sad to see you and your family leave. We hope you stop in and visit to say "hello" when you're in the area. It's a pleasure having people like you stay with us. It makes us smile and appreciate what we do everyday.

Thank you again,

Michele and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at the GrandStay this past weekend. The room fit our family of four (two adults, two children under 5) just perfectly. We had a separate bedroom with the children sleeping in the living area (including a pack-n-play.) We were close to our tailgating lot and to the ISU football game, so we were able to run back and forth between the hotel/tailgate/game easily. The location of the hotel: right off the interstate, attached to Old Chicago and close to the university. They do have a pool (it's definitely on the smaller side, but if your children are like mine, they love water no matter what.) The breakfast in the morning was a nice amenity as well. The service was friendly, the room was mostly clean and I'm thankful that we were able to get a room that fit our family so well the week of a home football game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor.

We enjoy hearing from our guests and their experience at our hotel. Customer Service, cleanliness and our amenities we offer our guest is our main focus.

I'm happy to hear your experience was a good one. We are definitely in a prime location (less than 1 mile) for easy access to Iowa State University, especially Cyclone football games and tailgating. Our spacious room types gives individuals and families a comfortable experience during their stay whether staying one night or numerous nights. We have a great variety of breakfast items, as well as a swimming pool/whirlpool and sport court area in the back yard for young children.

We hope you stay with us again the next time you're in Ames for a football game and tailgating.

Sincerely,
Michele Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Address: 1606 S Kellogg Ave, Ames, IA 50010-8000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay(R) Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Interstate 35 at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation! With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is perfect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing