We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$145
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$320
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
135
76
28
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
76
28
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold chicagogrand stayone bedroom suitemini kitchenseparate bedroomsfull size refrigeratorrooms are greathickory parkhome away from homefold out couchdance competitionextra roommy sonlocation was perfectplace to stayiowa statehot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 253 of 253 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed for two nights at Grandstay during a cyclone football game. Great price for great hotel rooms. Staff was overly accomodating and friendly. THe breakfast was fresh and had a variety of choices far beyond the usual. The rooms were neat clean and stylish with ample room for a extended or short stay. Nice pool and hottub as well. I have stayed in a number of places in Ames and would say this was the best experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank big12fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Stayed only one night at this hotel and found the hotel to be very nice. This is more of a long term stay hotel but for just one nice it fit the bill very nicely. I stayed in the featured 'loft' room on the 3rd floor which was directly over the main lobby entrance. This room featured a higher ceiling which gave the room a nice spacious feel, even though the room was very spacious already.

The bed was very nice to sleep in - the pillows were ok - I've had better pillows, but there weren't terrible. The room was clean and had a dvd player with the tv. Two windows which opened . The kitchen area had a full size refrigerator, microwave and two-burner stove and a dishwasher which was full of clean glasses and dinnerware.

The lobby area was very nice with a grand staircase going ot the 2nd floor. The dining area on the lobby had a nice selection of breakfast items with some awesome mini-glazed cinnamin rolls !! Only change I would suggest for the dining area was to put a larger flat panel tv in the dining room instead of hte regular sized tv.

The hotel is right next door to an Old Chicago restaurant - but if you don't like this there is a good selectoin of mainstream restaurants within blocks - Applebees, etc. The hotel was quiet at night and there is also a small pool and hot tub on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mike-mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

This hotel was very very nice. There was plenty of room for my family of four, with a separate bedroom, sitting room, kitchen, and bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and I was surprised to see Bath and Body Works toileteries. We stayed here during the week of the Iowa Games, so it was rather crowded with shirtless boys running around at all hours of the night. My only complaint was the lack of selection at their breakfast. There was basically waffles, yogurt, cereal, and bagels. There was little fruit and little kids drinks. However, the place was rather crowded, so I understand.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joejos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews