We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In Ames”
Review of Aunt Maude's

Aunt Maude's
Ranked #5 of 191 Restaurants in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boone, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Best In Ames”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best food in Ames. I would reccomend a first time there , lunch. And while there try the Cajun Prime Rib sandwich, sooo good. Service is stellar, food even better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although the prices are a little high, the atmosphere, service and quality food make it worth while. Steaks are always good. Drinks are fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Was served very quickly and sat quickly even though there was a wait for other people. Was pleasantly surprised with the food it was great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocknreconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Bliss”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived about 6:30 on a Tuesday night. The restaurant was not busy so we were seated right away. We came to celebrate my birthday with my husband and adult son. The lights were dimmed but not unpleasantly so.There was some music playing a bit loud at first, but we adjusted to it and and eventually didn't notice it.
My son had a Cesar salad with chicken and he said that it was very good. He really liked the toasted focaccia bread. My husband and I had the tri tip after 5 meal. They are smaller portions, for a smaller price. It was enough to fill both of us up. My tri tip was a little dry, but I ordered it well done. My husband said that his was excellent and melted in his mouth. We both opted to pay extra for the french onion soup and it was delicious.
I would say that I could see that on a Friday or Saturday night, this restaurant would get a bit cramped and it is nor a place for small children. We had a wonderful meal and I would recommend going there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
257 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food decent but over-priced, atmosphere noisy and crowded”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

For many years, Aunt Maude's was our favorite restaurant in Ames. A real 5 star place. But in recent years, the prices have gotten more expensive and the portions smaller though still tasty. This restaurant continues to be very popular and thus crowded. This usually means long waits to be seated in the restaurant, and an ambiance so noisy that you can hardly have a conversation with your dinner partners.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMGAmes_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aunt Maude's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing