We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Bay

Dublin Bay
Ranked #5 of 188 Restaurants in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For the Irish, a Pub is far more than a bar… a Pub is a community gathering place – an overgrown “family room” where members of the neighborhood meet to share the latest news, laugh, and ofttimes solve the world’s problems. At an Irish Pub, the idea of being a “regular” is, well, a bit of a lunacy… one can no more be a regular in a Pub than a regular in one’s own home! For the Irish, the Pub is a home – not for its beer, or stout, or libations, but for its environment of family… comfort… and safety from the stormy rains that grow the Irish countryside emerald green in grass and clover. For a traveler, the attraction of the Pub is the Irish philosophy that there are no strangers, but rather friends not yet met. To enter a Pub is to drop by a friend’s home… the greeting is warm and genuine, the service is gracious, the experience is relaxing and fun.
Manila
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The pub atmosphere is fine if you want a drink but the menu is a bit overpriced for what you get in terms of both portion size and quality. Food was forgettable but I'd go back for a pint.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    62
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great food on one of the busiest days in Ames”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We visited on one of the biiggest out to eat days of the year - graduation day at Iowa State. We made a reservation because we had 9 people celebrating. Our reservation was handled smoothly - it appeared they won't overbook and then make you wait. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar. Our table was ready and we had dinner. There is a additional Irish menu as well as American favorites like burger and sandwiches. It was fun to try something different for a change. I can't say if it was all perfectly authentic but was a very nice change and tasted great. We did have some onion rings as an appetizer. They were thick hearty slices that did not overpower. It was a great set up to a great meal. I would certainly go back. Beats any of the chain restaurants.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fortyplusoutayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huxley, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ireland, in Ames - hmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

this is a sister to Wallaby's but somehow seems to work. the food is pretty good, ambiance ok.....

Helpful?
Thank leslee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Out of Towners Looking for Something Different, Here it IS.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I meet with a group of men every other week for lunch. Due to the proximity to St Patrick's Day, we chose Dublin Bay. I have always liked this place. The problem is I never think about it. Too bad. It is always very good.

Ames has a lot of good restaurants. If you are from out of town and are looking for something a little different, here it is. As the name implies, it leans heavy to an Irish menu (though it has plenty else to offer). The food is very unique to Ames and it is always very good. Good portions and a friendly wait staff that stays on top of things. Plenty of bottle and tap beers from Ireland and Great Britain, along with a lot of the usual suspects.

The decor is what I imagine an Irish pub might be like. It is dark, yet it has a homey feel. There is also an outside patio when the weather is nice.

I have written plenty of reviews for Tripadvisor over the years but this is the first time I have felt inclined to review a restaurant in my own backyard. I feel that strongly about Dublin Bay. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go here for St Pat's Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a truly unique irish Pub with authentic Irish fare or a great cheeseburger-great for small gatherings.

Helpful?
Thank IowaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dublin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing