We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love local pizza”

Great Plains Sauce & Dough CO
Ranked #3 of 188 Restaurants in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mantorville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love local pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had heard of Great Plains, but this was our first stop. Great atmosphere. Reasonable wait time for pizza, but no wait for a booth. Staff are friendly. Variety of crusts. The thick wheat crust was tasty but heavier than I would prefer. Glad I had it. I see from other reviews we were supposed to dip the crust in honey. No one told us and no honey was provided. Oh well. I was so stuffed it didn't matter. Liked the lighter white crust too. Will definitely be back to try the others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    53
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sponge rocks, florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big slices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Big thick slices of pizza with potato, whole wheat, or regular crust. Popular Ames restaurant. When you are done with your wheat slice you can have "dessert" by putting honey on the big crust.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank riakeinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Some of my employees took me here for lunch, and I'm glad they did. A cozy place in the historic Main Street area of Ames that offers a different kind of pizza. Their hallmark is a whole wheat crust option that is extremely thick on the edges. The idea is to eat the pizza and dip the crust in honey. I had several pizza slices on the lunch special, including the white thin crust, and it was all great! Lunch was approximately 8 dollars, and the service was very efficient. Not a conduicive atmosphere for a true working lunch (small and a bit loud), but definitely worth the stop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank preach_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
532 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Different kind of pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband wanted to show me around his university. We spent a night in the area. He had to get back here. He said needed to put Honey on his bones. I had no idea what that really meant. The pizza dough is nothing I have seen before. It is huge on the edges and you eat it to the edges. Then you put honey on the edge for desert. Something new and fun to do. Overall ok pizza. The love to put cheese on it. Not overly greasy as pizza sometimes can be. Beer on draft and free refills on soda. Medium was more than enough for the two of us. Nice place in downtown. Would recommend if you want to try a new pizza experience. All the staff is obviously college age adults.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me9247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First timer, excellent pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Decided to try a new pizza establishment and heard good things about this place and was not let down! The pizza was excellent and the crust was outstanding.

Sat downstairs under the upstairs floor and it was loud. For those of you who have kids, please keep them quiet and don't let them jump up and down on the floor, it becomes very loud when you are sitting on the main floor.

I would recommend this place to anyone and I have at numerous pizza places and I would mark this place at the top of the list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IowaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Plains Sauce & Dough CO also viewed

 

Been to Great Plains Sauce & Dough CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing