We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reiman Gardens

Reiman Gardens
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting, 14-acre garden with new display annually; inside find a live, exotic butterfly exhibit and gardens that change seasonally; private rentals available.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Reiman Gardens is one of my favorite attractions in Ames. I've never been there when it was terribly crowded so I can wander quietly and leisurely wherever I want without being interrupted. The grounds are spacious and always spotless, the children's garden is always interesting and the butterfly pavilion is the best place ever to spend a winter afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    64
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Favorite Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Reiman Gardens is a favorite place of mine to relax, take nice pictures, and breathe in the floral-scented air. The butterfly house is beautiful to walk around and practice some photography, and there's a nice walking path all around the outdoor gardens for anyone looking for a beautiful stroll through the flowers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed the variety of flowers laid out over a well-landscaped expanse of green. The sun was rather brutal, so please carry appropriate hats and water if you are out on a warm day.

Friendly, welcoming staff. An excellent butterfly exhibit, staffed by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic young lady. We were told that the butterfly garden imports some of its species from overseas at over $20 per butterfly.

$8 general admission. Well worth it. Allow at least 2-3 hours. More if you are a shutterbug!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TA10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent several hours in the Gardens. Very nice for the relatively small space it occupies. Everything was enjoyable. There isn't anything to complain about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dennish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Must Visit Spot for Nature Photography”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I made the trip to Reiman Gardens this morning for the sole purpose of capturing butterfly photos as well as whatever flowers were in bloom. I was not disappointed. The array of color in the butterfly garden was simply amazing. I would recommend going here first since you can not take any camera bags or tripods in with you. I left mine in the trunk of the car and went back to get them after a good hour in the butterfly garden.

As far as flower blooms, I plan to come back at different times of the year to get diversity. Today the lilies (including those in the pond) were gorgeous. I spent a total of 3 hours there just taking photos and was very pleased with the outcome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave-in-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reiman Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing