We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our first experience with Microtel & some how we expected their rooms to be small, but we found this to be more than adequate & the only thing that was maybe a tad smaller than some was the bathroom & vanity area.

The bed was a little too firm for our liking, but the bedding was clean & fresh. The whole room was very clean. The bathroom was also very clean & had plenty of towels & complimentary soaps, shampoos etc. There was a small fridge, microwave & flat screen TV. (we didn't turn the TV on so don't know what the reception was like).

It had a good shower with lots of hot water & water pressure. We travel with a small dog & our pet was welcome with an additional $10 charge, which is pretty standard. This motel is located right off Highway 30 & real close to I-35.

I think there was WiFi, but we were busy & didn't try it, so I can't comment on it. We would recommend this motel & will try other Microtel motel in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the Highway 30 side of the motel & there was no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisMonlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    198
    137
    62
    37
See reviews for
307
62
46
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just your typical Microtel, but was lacking some of Microtel's usual amenities. There were no USA Today newspapers for guests--just a "desk copy". The usual continental breakfast, but no waffles. We had trouble with the alarm clock in our room. The alarm kept going off--even when we unplugged it.
Good price though, so inconvenience was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler6245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice stay for the cost. Will stay here again when visiting our student. Staff was helping in recommending place to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a great stay, but the stains on the carpet, torn wallpaper, and stain on the window bench were turn offs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Address: 2216 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ames
Microtel Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Microtel Ames
Ames Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing