We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ames Microtel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 683 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Glen N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in Ames for ISU orientation. Check in very slow by attendant who wouldn't crack a smile or offer a greeting. In the morning,breakfast area had four tables, 3 of which were occupied by a group of Seniors who were camped out for more than an hour. (They were there when we went down to the lobby to get coffee in the morning since there is no in-room option and they were still there after we left for the day.)The other guests stood around balancing paper plates and cups in the motel doorway. It was odd.

Breakfast was very ho-hum--muffins, yogurt, bread, rock hard biscuits and cold sausage gravy. I guess heating it up before dumping in a crock pot it too much to ask.Whoever designed this eating area obviously hasn't used it The Microtel napkins are Micro-sized and tucked in a congested corner beyond the coffee--in order to reach a napkin, you had to wait while people prepared their coffee, creamer, sugar, and toast. This is also where the unsmiling desk clerk had to stand to make and refresh the coffee pots. And the people standing eating were licking their fingers as a result. Even the little plates don't fit into the cut-out for the trash in the counter. What were they thinking? In a service industry, these things count.

The lobby curtains were white with dust.

Room layout had the sink outside the bathroom, though it was also Micro-sized. We set up the ironing board for additional counter space. The mirrored wall and overheard fluorescent lights in the sleeping area are also very unusual. Carpet was filthy both in traffic areas and around baseboards--and wet from a leaking refrigerator--but the bed was comfortable.

AC unit was very loud and cycled often; highway traffic was loud, but not bothersome. We would have opened the window, but the screen was shredded on one side.

So this was convenient--but we will keep looking for other options in the area. We have been in similarly priced hotels in small towns for soccer tournaments the last three weekends. The competition does better.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Address: 2216 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $63 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ames
Microtel Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Microtel Ames
Ames Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing