We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was our 4th trip to Ames. We went to hotels.com and did not find this hotel but we found it off another site in the wyndham chain. Having stayed at another microtel before we thought we give it a try. It was a great value and great place to stay in our price range. We've tried several other hotels in the same price range and where less satisfied with them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank RANDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 664 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Experience was Great! Front desk was matter of fact without a greeting. Drove over 500 mile that day and counter personnel stated no check ins until 3:00 PM as if all the rooms were finished at 3:00 PM exactly each and every day. I stay at over 125 Wyndham rewards a year and most greet you with a positive greeting and will let you check in early. She was quite rude, but all else was terrific.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank LargoPayDayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed at this girl on 4 occasions, and have always been impressed. Very clean and quiet rooms, very friendly staff. Breakfast is well presented a a nice selection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank yxeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Finally, a nice clean place to stay for a decent price! The rooms aren't large, but that's okay. All we need is a clean room, with a comfortable bed and a good clean bathroom. We got it all, including nice linens, a nice big TV and a good breakfast, with great coffee.
We've stayed there twice, and we'll stay there again.
The staff is very nice and accommodating. The only thing we noticed that could use a little help is the lobby and hall carpeting, it looks a little threadbare and stretched. Everything else was great! We hope all Microtels are as nice as this one. We've stayed in places that cost twice as much or more and were very disappointed. Thank you Microtel, Ames Iowa.
jgodi@ntin.net

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great stay with Microtel. Within the first 10 minutes of being in the room our 2 year old son discovered how to insert shiny objects into the electric outlets. I made a quick call to the front desk to ask in they had any outlet covers. They did a check around and called back a few minutes later to let me know that they didn't have any, but that they sent someone to the store to pick some up. The outlet covers were installed in our room in under a couple of hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank KThorsteinsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've worked and stayed in lots of hotels and I can spot a race to the bottom hotel when I see one. From the outside, the hotel is very nice, even once you walk in the door your first thought is that this a nice place. Once you get into things though the flaws really start to show.

I arrived about an hour before check in, the parking lot was dead. I asked the front desk if I could check in early and the answer was a resounding no. They stated they had a full house the night before so no rooms were ready. I inquired when my room would be ready and their response was 'in about an hour'. A 70+ room hotel and no rooms ready an hour before check-in? I am confident someone just didn't want to bother.

Anywho we leave and come back, all is good. Walking down the hall there's a strange smell that permeated. It's not like cleaning products, but not too far off. Maybe bad food? I don't know, but it went away or I got used to it after a while.

In my room things were alright, basic room just as I expected. I didn't care for the large mirrors all along one wall. It screamed voyeuristic or hidden camera to me. The breakfast is started low-end hotel fare, nothing special, nothing horrid. Staff was kinda cold to speak to in the morning, no smiles out of anyone. Woke up both nights with ants all over the table next to the TV. I didn't really appreciate that, even though they weren't much of a nuisance. It's clear this hotel caters to very blue collar workers. There was a set of lawn chairs on the side of the building with about a dozen beer cans next to the door daily.

All this being said, would I stay there again? The answer is probably not, but that's only because there were 5 other hotels within a stone's throw of this one. I think I could spend a little more and get better. If they were full though I wouldn't think twice about coming back here, just with my lowered expectations intact.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank MICHAEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was very nice for a budget hotel and I would stay here again and recommend to a friend. The hotel was quiet, clean, bed comfortable and the staff was friendly. This is not a fancy hotel by anyone's standards BUT I was quite happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreese4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Address: 2216 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $62 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ames
Microtel Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Microtel Ames
Ames Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing