We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starting to show some wear and tear.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Onalaska, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Starting to show some wear and tear.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Upon staying here this past weekend, I have noticed a change. It appears that this hotel is starting to show signs of going downhill.... This is a shame, as it is a fairly new facility!! As ISU parents, we have stayed here a handful of times over the past 3 years. However this was the first time where the carpets are looking tired and dirty, and the entire facility had an overall cigarette aroma lingering. The continental breakfast is OK, the location and price are good.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms are nice, especially if son/daughter and college friends want to stop out for a visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilsyOnalaska_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    199
    138
    64
    37
See reviews for
312
65
45
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2012 during our campus visit to ISU. Overall we had a great time. The rooms looked very new and updated. Large flat panel TV in the room. Beds were VERY comfortable. Complementary breakfast was OK. 3 diferent cereals, bread, english muffins, etc. Coffee and Orange juice. Not bad overall. We stayed at some hotels in the past with more offerings (hot waffles, etc) but for the price of the room, not bad. We got a special and the room was around $60 per night. We had to use the business center to print some info for our campus visit and the prints were free. Nice computers and good internet connections. Fitness Center was nice. Had bike, treadmill and stairmaster along with 3 flat panel TV's, towels, etc. I always like stairwells also which are nicely updated with carpet, etc. Since we like walking up the stairs to our room instead of taking elevators, it is a plus to have a hotel with stairs which are not just cement floors. Front desk staff was very nice and gave us great advice on ISU. Hotel was only about 5 miles from campus. We would definately stay here again in the future. No pool though, so if that is important to you, you may want to look elsewhere. Since we were there In Feb, taking a swim was not important to us. They even let us use the conference room at night to allow my daughter to practice/tune up with her French Horn before her audition on the last day we were there. Very nice for them to do so because it was a nice area for her to warm up with her horn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsBrother10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here recently on a business trip. I needed someplace inexpensive and near the University's campus. I was very pleasantly surprised! The lobby was cozy with a Christmas tree and a fire going in the fire place when we walked in on a cold evening. There was free wireless. My room was newly updated, clean, fresh and cozy. For what I paid and this class of hotel, this place was the best I've stayed in and I'm a frequent traveler who stays in a wide variety of hotels. I had colleagues who stayed in another room who were also in love with it. Great job Microtel! We'll be back :o)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinnicole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Woke up in the morning with bite marks covering both legs. Upon closer inspection of the bed linens I noticed fleas were in the bed. Also discovered fleas in other areas of the room and bathroom. I assume that it came from somebody who brought their dog into the room and it wasn't cleaned properly after they left. I notified the front desk upon leaving so they hopefully did something about it. After returning home, I left my luggage in my garage for two days until I could fully inspect everything to make sure I didn't bring any fleas into my house that might have gone into my luggage. I've also spent the last three days having to apply medicine constantly to all the bites to include waking up in the middle of the night to apply ointment because of the severity of the bites, its been like having chicken poxs all over again. Probably the worst hotel experience of my life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena R, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
It concerns me to hear about the recent discomfort that you experienced. We strive to make all of our guests happy, but sometimes in doing so we are able to accommodate one and not another. The Microtel Inn & Suites in Ames is a pet friendly facility. In the past we haven't had any problems with allowing pets in our property but as always sometimes unexpected things happen. The rooms was inspected and treated by our pest management company the day after you departed. Again I apologize for this situation and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best Regards
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stopped here for a night on the road. Strangely, there was a wedding reception going on that night... Had no idea the Microtels even hosted events. We were a little concerned about the noise from the young partiers, but one we shut our room door, we couldn't hear a peep and slept soundly all night. Rooms were small (of course) but clean, bright and recently updated. Breakfast was pretty good too, fresh biscuits were delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We booked online, got a good price for a queen suite. We arrived to check in but they wern't ready for us, apparently they have just had a bunch of international students say there for a week and they checked out late, so they were way behind on cleaning. When we did get our room it was clean and nice. The staff was nice enough and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke_Skyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This Microtel is very nice. The lobby area is spacious and looks quite new. I didn't have my laptop with me, but the public computers worked fine, and I never had trouble having access to them. The single room was tiny, but very clean. I caught a glimpse of the suite across the hall which seemed surprisingly spacious for this type of hotel. There is a lot of open space behind the hotel where children can run, play, throw a ball around, etc. There's easy access to the highway and plenty of parking. The pillows are pretty flat, the continental breakfast is limited, and the smell of artificial floral freshener is quite strong, but for the price I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KayJay084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Address: 2216 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ames
Microtel Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Microtel Ames
Ames Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing