We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right off the highway, quick to get to.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right off the highway, quick to get to.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We booked online, got a good price for a queen suite. We arrived to check in but they wern't ready for us, apparently they have just had a bunch of international students say there for a week and they checked out late, so they were way behind on cleaning. When we did get our room it was clean and nice. The staff was nice enough and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke_Skyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    198
    137
    62
    37
See reviews for
307
62
46
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This Microtel is very nice. The lobby area is spacious and looks quite new. I didn't have my laptop with me, but the public computers worked fine, and I never had trouble having access to them. The single room was tiny, but very clean. I caught a glimpse of the suite across the hall which seemed surprisingly spacious for this type of hotel. There is a lot of open space behind the hotel where children can run, play, throw a ball around, etc. There's easy access to the highway and plenty of parking. The pillows are pretty flat, the continental breakfast is limited, and the smell of artificial floral freshener is quite strong, but for the price I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KayJay084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Not bad but I still wont be back. Bed was not comfortable. Not worth 65 bucks to sleep on an old bed. Shower head didnt work that great either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighwayTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We needed a place during our drive. This was $50 plus tax. The room was small for the US but normal for Europe and clean. But for $50 what do you want? This was clean, safe, cheap, and even camel with breakfast. And the bed was just as good as the $100 a night places I stay at when I travel on the company card. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eshetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

The hallway and entrance to the room reeked of smoke combined with artificial floral freshener. (I had a nonsmoking room.) The room was tiny, barely room on both sides of one queen size bed. Out my window was an a-line roof blocking any view. I asked if the hotel was full and if I could change rooms and the woman at the desk in the evening said they were quite full and I couldn't switch. I double checked in the morning and the desk clerk told me they had only been about half full. I did get the room on Priceline and I know that you take what you get with that, but I have usually had much better service than this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I got here late (I called and was told that was okay) and checked into my room. The only remaining nonsmoking room was a 1st floor handicap accessible room. 1st floor meant I had to keep the window coverings closed (very dark this a.m.) and handicap accessible meant funky shower that turned out to be downright dangerous for a person on two feet (the shower floor was slick and sloped dramatically down to the drain requiring me to hang on to the handy-dandy shower bar most of the time. Oh, and both the desk chair and the side chair in the room had nasty-looking staining that I don't want to think too hard about.

But the biggest issue was lack of internet access. I am here for a conference but still have a lot of hot projects going on and being able to access email and web-based products is imperative. So sad for me, the wifi worked right the door to my room (the overnight clerk and I tested) and then stopped. I could either sit in the hallway and work, or come to the front lobby with loud tv and work - and as I'm learning now, connectivity is relative; I think my old dial up was faster. Bottom line: I'm sure this place is fine (although not particularly inexpensive) for a quick hop off the interstate to sleep, but for business travelers, try one of the many other options. This is no bargain and will leave you cranky and behind.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOSIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed here for two nights. The location was great, the room was clean and quiet. Upon arrival, I was told there was wireless internet available. After attempting to log on several times, I called the front desk. I was told they have a new system and no one else had complained about no internet. I waited a hour later and tried again. Still no internet. So, I went to the front desk to get a cable for wired internet. I was told the entire hotel only had one cable available and someone else already had it. grrr. Ok, the next night, still no internet. A couple of more calls to the front desk to ask about it and no response other than "it's not working." Duh, I figured that out. So much for getting online during my stay. Other than that, I would stay again, but not if I had some online work I needed to get accomplished.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmortenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Address: 2216 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Ames
Microtel Inn & Suites Ames Hotel Ames
Microtel Ames
Ames Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing