We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
GrandStay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$110
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
20
26
13
9
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
26
13
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwafflesrefrigerator and microwavethe wi fiother hotelsmorning breakfaststaff was very friendlymotellaundryclusteredratespillows
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 84 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was very nice and the price was also great! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It's also a quick ride to downtown Ames which is nice to go out to and have dinner and drinks. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is very clean, the room was spacious and beds super comfortable. For the price you pay it is a good deal. Breakfast, well, continental but my grandkids were thrilled for they made their own waffles. I think on weekends they should extend the breakfast time, sort of start and end a little bit later, like from 7 to 10 instead of 6-9 AM. On weekends people usually sleeps more. Ames is a small city so everything is close, restaurants, shops, etc. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alborada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for my folks to stay during June, 2012. Knowing that we would be busy and only needing a place to sleep, we decided to try this Econo Lodge. Crossed our fingers and hoped we would not be disappointed! We were not disappointed. Very satisfied.

Keep in mind that this is an older hotel and the rooms are a bit smaller, and it is far from roomy --but - from what I could tell, it was clean, clean, clean. Hallways and common areas well maintained. Beds, bathrooms, pool area - nice and clean. Front desk area, inviting and clean.

Parking lot area, well lit and safe feeling. The only negative thing was that at 8:20 am, the breakfast was all gone, which was a bit disappointing since it was supposed to go until 9 am. They should have looked at how booked the hotel was and planned better for food, but - who knows, there could have been rooms full of teens that over indulged and ate all the food. Who knows, but it was disappointing since it was only a continental breakfast. Panera close by so we got bagels. Again, you pay bigger price for bigger breakfast, so this wasn't a huge issue, just disappointing.

TV worked, A/C worked - room was great. Had a fridge and microwave in it too.

Will stay again because it was cheap, clean and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victorious1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This Econo Lodge is a great place to stay! They are courteous and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and well kept. Free wi-fi and continental breakfast. Hard to beat for this price range!! Also, the beds were very comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Front desk person had one screaming baby in the office and another child playing in lobby. Room had not been swept,had 2 queen beds,peanuts in the sheets of one, not sure if they fell out of the maid's mouth when she was cleaning or if they were from previous visitor, either way, slept in other bed that had no food remnants. Bathroom sink stopped up when I brushed my teeth. Dirty ice bucket,lights and TV remote.
Wakeup call came 50 minutes late, of course, wasn't expecting much so had set alarm on my phone.
Will say the snack and drink machines have good options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vapowderpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews