We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$110
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
277
114
27
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
114
27
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurt bariowa stategas stationwaffleshotel breakfastlobby areapool and hot tubbusiness centerconference roomshort drivevery nice hotelcomfortable roomsin towna great place to stayfront desk staffother hotelsdes moines
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 426 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here while visiting Iowa State. The location is excellent, right down the road from the University. Our room overlooked the adjacent gas station, but was actually VERY quiet and with the comfy beds we slept well. Breakfast was standard fare. Room was clean, beds and pillows comfy and as I said, quiet. Overall, a good stay! Would recommend for ISU visits, it is a little closer than some of the other hotels off Duff(which is a busy main drag).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DFWMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The rooms had plenty of space. Breakfast is served in the large lobby area, and they let us use the area in the evening for a pizza party. This was really nice, since no other hotel we had been to could offer us a space to eat. The pool isn't large, but it is shallow. The kids had a great time. There were a few tables, but not a lot of space to hang out, however the parents made do.
There was no elevator. Our room was the farthest from the pool as it could get. The rooms were fine. Very 'Best Western'ish. It was located within view of the highway, but was very nice and quiet.
Breakfast included make your own waffles and yogurt with blueberries, as well as the usual cereal, toast etc.
We'll probably stay again if in Ames. It is close to the university and the hockey rink.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IA_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Our family group had two rooms for our trip to an Iowa State basketball room. Two relatives stayed in a regular room, and I paid only a few bucks more for a suite to share with my two sons.

Rooms were average, but clean and well appointed. Hotel appears to have been updated in the last few years. Lots of channels on the TV. My sons liked the pool. There are not many tables in the breakfast area, but that didn't seem to be a problem during our visit.

There were a few minor drawbacks. Our rooms were not ready upon our arrival, so we couldn't check in until after the game. Even by the low standards of pull-out couches, the pull-out couch in our suite was a very uncomfortable bed.

There are certainly cheaper hotels in Ames, but this offers a good value for your money. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad you found our location to the university convenient and I hope you had fun at the football game. Please contact us when you come to Ames in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed at this hotel with several colleagues. In town working with Greener Ways blog. Spacious lobby made for a great place to meet and discuss business, as well as the business center that was available. Great breakfast. FAST Wi-Fi and wired connections accommodated all of my group's needs. Very friendly staff. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank greenerways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Better than the average Best Western the front desk staff are very helpful and warm. Has a family-friendly environment. Simple, decent breakfast--nothing extraordinary but good value for the cost. The only slight issue both times I stayed here -- it was rather chilly in the hotel..found the hallways quite cold..brrr..Free internet access was nice too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaMsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews