We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room...wonderful amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have tried several hotels in Ames and to our surprise, we actually found the Best Western a cut above the rest. Although all the hotel layouts and rooms are basically the same, we found Best Western good enough to warrant a review. First of all they created a sitting area when first entering with a couch, TV, refrig. coffee maker, kitchenette. The bathroom is in the middle and the bedroom on the other side with its own TV. It allowed us separate spaces for reading, TV and sleeping. The bed was very comfortable, the room very quiet and the duvet not too warm (One of my pet peeves in all these hotels...bed looks great but duvet is too hot and no blankets usually available as a alternative.)
Breakfast was included but we left early and did not partake. We did take coffee and it was actually good. My one recommendation would be to offer the room with or without breakfast. I would prefer to have a price option like that and it would separate this hotel from the others.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and room was very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandygirlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

The property was clean and well kept, welcoming, courteous and helpful staff. Very easy access to the university, shopping and restaurants. Because my son is attending ISU I will definitely stay again. Go Cyclones!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Loved this place to stay! Very clean, very attentive staff, very accommodating about needs and changes to reservation. Pool and hot tub were nice and warm. Breakfast had good choices. The Keurig machine in the room was the best!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had our family reunion at the Best Western University Park Inn & Suites in Ames, IA and had a great time. We used the conference room to gather in. The staff was amazing and we so appreciate their hospitality. We've been going there for our family reunion for over 10 years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pkheffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We hope your family had a great time during the reunion and we're glad to hear that our hotel works well for your annual event. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Chose to stay at this hotel during a recent visit to Ames for college registration. One of the best features of this hotel is its location. Its very close to campus, and yet it is far enough off of I-35 that you can get away from the noise of the freeway. Its also a little more private, since it isn't in a large cluster of other hotels. Another great feature was the people. Check in went very smoothly, and the desk personnel were very helpful with directions to the campus, as well as suggestions for restaurants.

The room itself showed a bit of wear, but was clean. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very quiet, despite the hotel being quite busy. We did enjoy the pool and the hot tub. Breakfast was decent - about what you'd expect.

All in all, this was a very pleasant stay, and we will certainly consider staying here again the next time we visit Ames.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here during my daughter's campus visit at Iowa State Univ. It seemed a bit far away from campus but was really quite close to campus and restaurants around campus. The rooms were clean and roomy. The pool looked nice although we didn't go int. The free breakfast was good, about what you expect from a hotel like this. A nice plus was the free wifi, which was reasonably fast and robust. All in all, a good value and a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Best Western. Our only disappointment was that we reserved a "suite" and it was not very "suite-like". Although we didn't use the exercise equipment or the pool and hot tub, it was all inviting and clean. Each staff member was very genuinely friendly and eager to create a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd., Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $121 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing