We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. The room was very clean. Clean bathroom with plenty of towels. The only noise I heard was from the gas station outside our window. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. Congratulations to you and your husband on your anniversary! Please give us a call if you ever need another getaway and ask about our Romance Package that includes a night in a presidential suite, a bottle of wine, and chocolates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 416 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best Western Ames has a great full breakfast every morning. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. For a small town in low season I was surprised at their 150.00 a night charge for the room. That would be my only complaint!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our expanded complimentary hot breakfast and that you noticed how clean our hotel is. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again next time you are in Ames.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here while we were moving this year since August 1st was on a Wednesday and we didn't want to miss work to move. This place was excellent we had planned to check in on Sunday and check out on Wednesday but it rained Saturday and after a day of moving in the rain we decided that it would be nice to check in on Saturday instead so we could take advantage of the hot tub after a long wet day of moving. I called about an hour before check in on Saturday and they even had the room that I had reserved for Sunday available which was a plus. We were there for a few days but it was nice to be able to come back to the room after work and relax. Since, we are both smokers it was nice that they still offer smoking rooms as most hotels in Ames have gotten rid of their smoking rooms. We stayed in a simple King room which was very comfortable. The beds in this place are probably the best in Ames too.Another great thing about this place is that because I booked in advanced for a 3 day stay we got a discounted rate on our room. The only downside to our whole stay was the fact that my boyfriends truck was parked in the parking lot on the last night of our stay and it looked like one of the other guests who was parked next to him had backed out and there was a huge scratch down the back of his truck and with no cameras in the parking lot there was no way of telling who had done it. Because his truck was rather old we only had minimum insurance on it so we have still not been able to afford to have it fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasi4307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay during your move and I hope that your comfortable stay helped ease your transition. Please give us a call if you ever have lodging needs in the future and I hope you are enjoying your new home. THANK YOU for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked the Best Western based on its top rating on trip advisor, and because the choices in Des Moines were limited and expensive because of the final weekend of the state fair.

I had a series of unfortunate events, and arrived late at night grateful for a chance to unwind and clear my head. Did some reading, had a great night's sleep, took a hot shower. Perfect!

No TV, no hassles...only to then walk into the breakfast area downstairs blasting both televisions -- on Fox News, no less -- at 7 o'clock Sunday morning.

An argumentative program was on with a high volume, making it hard to think. No conversations were going on over the din, as guests just watched the Fox & Friends crew and chewed. I asked the (very nice) breakfast lady if they couldn't change the channel, or at least lower the volume, but she just smiled (I don't know if she even heard me over the racket). It would have been too much of a hassle to lug all the breakfast items up the stairs and back to the room, so I tried sitting as far away from the TV, with my back to it.

So much care has been put into this facility that it is a shame I ended up leaving with my restful state marred. I would recommend having soft music playing in the background at an early hour, and that guests not be subjected to so much noise early in the day.

On the plus side: the hotel offers easy access off the highway, super-friendly night crew guys, clean (though not new) room with plenty of space, indoor pool and spa, and fresh blueberries at breakfast -- with plain yogurt, granola and Granny Smith apples in addition to the bacon, eggs and bagels. Healthy choices, which were much appreciated.

Please take the final step to create a restful area to eat the good food you're providing, and help us start off our day on the right foot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudeinthedunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Ames and for taking the time to leave us feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that so many things went well for you but am sorry to hear that it was spoiled by a loud television in our public area. We will take this into consideration and be sure to monitor how loud other guests are turning up the public televisions in the future. Thank you again for staying with us and for the feedback and we hope that you will give us a call next time you are in Ames.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Clean, great service, quiet air conditioner, and wonderful breakfast. What a deal and a nice place to stay. We had a suite, and it was very spacious. Glad we pkcked the Best Western Plus. Wow...nice place to stay, and pet friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank care54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have stayed here several times with my large dog while we visited the Vet Hospital in Ames. The staff is unfailingly friendly, the rooms large with nice views, comfortable beds (one for me, one for the dog), nice large grassy fields in which to walk a dog right around the hotel, convenience store and gas station adjacent. I would not go anywhere else. The manager came immediately after hours to fix a slight problem with the toilet - he was very courteous and helpful! Even took away the wet towels I used after giving my dog a bath and did not complain that I had done so!

Room Tip: A north room facing East would be best for me with view of grass and forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us when bringing your dog to the Iowa State University Veterinary Hospital. We hope you enjoyed the proximity to the hospital and our pet friendly room. I'm glad to hear that the issue with your door was fixed to your satisfaction before it became a problem. Thank you for staying with us and please come back next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western University Park Inn with two adults and five children. We all enjoyed our stay. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well-maintained, and the staff were friendly and courteous. The kids loved the pool and hot tub, and everyone enjoyed the continental breakfast (they even had yogurt, granola, and fresh blueberries -- yummy and so much better than many hotel breakfasts). We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sraesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUniversityPark, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving feedback on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and also using the pool. We hope to see you again next time you are in Ames. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
1.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 2500 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010-8621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ames
#3 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $88 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Ames, Iowa hotel located close to the Coldwater Golf Course, Iowa State University and the Ames Municipal Airport.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, a full-service hotel located just minutes away from the Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This Ames hotel offers convenient access to the Iowa State Center, home to sporting events and concerts as well as the Iowa State University Research Park.The BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites offers 87 spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with a refrigerator, cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast. This Iowa hotel also features an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, 24 hour business center and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome!Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites will be close to the Reiman Gardens, the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad and the North Grand Mall. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to the Iowa Department of Transportation, the United States Department of Agriculture Disease Lab, 3M®, Sauer Danfoss and the Ag Information Center.For superior customer service and a convenient location in Ames, Iowa make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ames
Ames Best Western
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites Ames, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing