We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at this hotel!”
Review of AmericInn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Ames
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
“Great stay at this hotel!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our family was in Ames for a college visit for our daughter. The hotel is conveniently located as was not far from Iowa State University and was also close to area restaurants. We found the hotel to be clean, friendly staff, the lobby had a family atmosphere, rooms had comfortable beds/pillows, very quite. Enjoyed the breakfast variety. The pool looked inviting, but we did not have time to enjoy it (maybe on our next visit!) We had requested a roll-a-bed when making our initial reservation and were quite impressed that it was already inside our room upon our arrival. Great service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Anita,

Thank you for sharing your kinds words regarding our hotel. I am glad to hear that we went above and beyond your expectations. We really strive to provide an excellent product with extraordinary customer service for all of our guest.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Hopefully this time you will get a chance to check out our pool and hot tub!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    74
    35
    20
    12
See reviews for
141
33
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartley, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Was in Ames for the Iowa/Iowa State game. Had a vehicle breakdown and the superb staff let me check in a bit earlier than usual and saved the day. Very clean, very friendly. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and then had a hot delicious breakfast at the motel in the morning. Thanks AmericInn Ames.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Phillip,

Thank you for taking a few moments out of your day to say a few nice words about our hotel. The Iowa/Iowa State game is always an exciting time of the year for everyone. Ames is always so full of life during this match up. We always enjoy seeing the new faces that this game brings to town.

I am sorry to hear about your vehicle problems that weekend but am happy to know that our staff was able to help makes things a little easier for you. It's exciting to know that we are meeting your expectations and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Americinn Ames a couple of times when in the area. Our recent visit was exactly what we have come to expect when staying at an Americinn. The rooms are quiet, the facility is nicely appointed, our room was clean, the breakfast is good and better than what most hotels offer, the staff was friendly and helpful and we had a great nights sleep. Our daughter is considering attending Iowa State in which case I expect we will become more frequent customer at Americinn Ames.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms so comfortable. We are continually working to make our breakfast as delicious as possible and it's great to see that you found it so satisfying.

Thanks again and good luck with choosing a college with your daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Ia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very satisfied with the services, staff , and cleanliness of the facility. We continue to stay there season after season to enjoy the Iowa State Cyclones. Easy access and very efficient and knowledgeable staff . Pool was slightly chilly, but breakfast was great and well stocked. Very satisfying stay.

Room Tip: Have stayed in double queens, single kings, and Suites as well. Any choice is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Monty,

Thanks you so much for sharing your experience of AmericInn Ames with our travelers. I really appreciate your positive feedback and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again for the next home game. Go Cyclones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff was very nice and accomodating, very handy to have a microwave and small refrig in each room, both worked well, beds were VERY uncomfortable, I could feel the springs in the mattress, if you have a bad back you might want to reconsider. It does have a pool and hot tub that I did not use during my stay so I can not comment on it, went for breakfast at 8:30 all the eggs were gone, and the sausage looked like it had been there for awhile.. very disappointing :( I am glad I did not spend any more than I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amesia, General Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Kristy,

I would like to apologize that your stay with us was not what you expected. I am truly sorry that the beds were uncomfortable for you. We are undergoing renovations and in about a week we will be getting all new queen beds for our double queen rooms and in a few months we will be getting all new king beds as well. We would love to have you come back and stay once those arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Staff was outstanding and very helpful during our stay, they provided great dining suggestions/directions of location restaurants. The overall facilities were well kept and up to date, especially the pool area, and definitely a step up from other comparably priced motel/hotels in the general area. Next trip to Ames we'll definitely book our stay @ Americinn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highflying51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that our staff members were able to help you find restaurants in the area. Ames has so much to offer, and we are always happy to help our guests with suggestions and directions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Service is always pleasant; managers always available to meet special needs, rooms always perfectly clean. Will continue to stay with Americinn in Ames IA as I have these past few years and won’t even try to book elsewhere. Always satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bothseekers108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Wow! We are so pleased to receive your review of your stay with us. We are proud of our awesome staff and our clean, comfortable rooms. We are so happy that you liked staying with us so well!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Property: AmericInn Ames
Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ames
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
AmericInn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing