We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada, Iowa
1 review
“Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay in Dec 2013 during a stay with my friends. Sherri Graham worked with us on a great rate and a very nice room. Sherri was very friendly and even laughed and joked with us when we came back to the hotel after my friends and I returned to hotel ofter being out all night. She made sure we had all we needed. The room was nice and clean. We all agreed we would def use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. The Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center prides itself on delivering exceptional service and quality all at a great price!

Sherri, and the other team members are truly valued assets. They are what makes Holiday Inn a great place to stay.

We do invite you to come visit us again should you return to the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    135
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
86
15
22
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelley, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Staying at the Holiday Inn in Ames was a great experience. We were most happy with their over night worker Sherri Graham, we came back from a night of fun and she was very friendly and always had a smile even if we may have been annoying her. She talked to us and just made the whole experience good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on TripAdvisor.

The Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center prides itself on delivering exceptional service and quality each and every day. Our employees make sure of that!

The Management Team selectively hires, trains and develops only the best. Sherri is one of them!

We do look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was not impressed at all with this hotel. The pictures online look nice, but reality is different. Bed was very creaky. Lumpy foam pillows were the only option. No conditioner in bathroom and none available at front desk. As a positive there is a "constant fan" option on the ac that allows you to block out other noise and the walls are rather thin. I would not stay here again. Just didn't feel clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center. We do value your opinion and use comments as a way to continually improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality.

The Team works hard to ensure each guest has a positive memorable experience. We are disappointed to learn this was not the case with you. I have shown your feedback to the team and I know they share the same vision to provide a clean, comfortable experience to each and every guest.

We do invite to stay with us again in the future, should your travels bring you to the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelley, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hotel is great host for our yearly Sales Week. Sherri Holiday inn's Night worker is great and goes out of her way dealing with us all through the night. This is a clean and great Hotel to stay at withgreat employees

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. The Holiday Inn Ames, Conference Center strives to achieve a 5 star rating each and every time.

The team takes pride in our members. We select, hire and train only the best!

I did share this review with the staff and it put a smile on their face knowing they have reached their goal in service and quality.

We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very easy access off of Interstate 35, lots of parking. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean, quiet, great sleep. Great FREE breakfast with healthy choices. We have plugged this hotel into our GPS for future trips between Canada and our winter home in Arizona. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Charles W,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor.

The team at the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center strives to deliver service and quality worth a 5 star rating. We are proud of our product and elated that you enjoyed the guestroom amenities and the breakfast.

I have gone ahead and showed the team this review and the smiles on their faces are priceless. It those kind of smiles that show them they have achieved their goal of 5 Star service.

We do hope the next time you return to the Ames, Iowa area, your choice of lodging will be the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is my third stay and I have been impressed every time. No, there is no free breakfast, which is slightly inconvenient but they do have an okay restaurant on premises. 3 quick fixes would make this place perfect. 1. Train the bartenders how to make mixed drinks-they are all really friendly and professional, just not well trained. Buy a mixed drinks book so they can look things up! 2. Open the fitness center 24/7, many hotels are doing that now and it is extremely helpful! 3. Extend the pool hours (and turn the pool heat up just a bit). When a pool opens at 8am and closes at 10pm, there is not much swimming time for business people! I love it when hotel pool hours are 5am-midnight! Great location and I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. The Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center takes each review as a way to continually improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality.

We have presented your suggestions to Management in the hopes of extending the Fitness Center hours and the pool hours. We do feel that this is a valued added amenity to the business traveler especially after a long day at work.

We invite to you to visit us again when you return to the Ames, Iowa area. Our goal is to achieve a 5 Star rating the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night there while visiting Iowa State with my son. The property seemed relatively new, was very clean and the service was excellent. The rooms were quite spacious and the beds comfortable. I thought the breakfast options were great and prefer menu service to a continental even if I have to pay for it. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center on Trip Advisor.

The hotel strives to deliver 5 Star service and quality to each and every guest every day. While we are disappointed we did not meet this goal with you, we hope to "try" harder the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu

Property: Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Address: 2609 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames Conference Center hotel is close to Iowa State University! Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center ISU is located just off Hwy 30 and 5 miles from I-35. We are two miles from the Iowa State University campus and convenient to the area's biggest attractions. Our hotel is close to many major businesses. The ISU Research Park, IA DOT Headquarters and USDA/NVSL are just a short drive away. The Hilton Coliseum, Stephens Auditorium, Fisher Theater, and Scheman Building are only one mile from our Ames accommodations. Syngenta, 3M and Sauer-Danfoss are also nearby. We offer three meeting rooms with seating for up to 450 guests. We are close to ISU s campus, which makes it easy to visit a student, attend a sporting event or just enjoy the beautiful campus. Our Ames hotel is within a mile of Jack Trice Stadium, Reiman Gardens and Coldwater Golf Links. Leisure travelers will find many attractions near our hotel. Downtown Ames offers dining, shopping and entertainment - it's a great place to spend a day. The Iowa Arboretum and Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad are less than a half-hour away. Guests of our hotel in Ames are sure to enjoy our deluxe amenities. You can dine at our full-service restaurant, the Cardinal Cafe, hold an event in one of our flexible meeting rooms, or simply relax in the indoor pool. Visit the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center - ISU and see what this Ames area hotel has to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing