We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Dryden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very easy access off of Interstate 35, lots of parking. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean, quiet, great sleep. Great FREE breakfast with healthy choices. We have plugged this hotel into our GPS for future trips between Canada and our winter home in Arizona. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Charles W,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor.

The team at the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center strives to deliver service and quality worth a 5 star rating. We are proud of our product and elated that you enjoyed the guestroom amenities and the breakfast.

I have gone ahead and showed the team this review and the smiles on their faces are priceless. It those kind of smiles that show them they have achieved their goal of 5 Star service.

We do hope the next time you return to the Ames, Iowa area, your choice of lodging will be the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    154
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
95
16
23
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
205 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is my third stay and I have been impressed every time. No, there is no free breakfast, which is slightly inconvenient but they do have an okay restaurant on premises. 3 quick fixes would make this place perfect. 1. Train the bartenders how to make mixed drinks-they are all really friendly and professional, just not well trained. Buy a mixed drinks book so they can look things up! 2. Open the fitness center 24/7, many hotels are doing that now and it is extremely helpful! 3. Extend the pool hours (and turn the pool heat up just a bit). When a pool opens at 8am and closes at 10pm, there is not much swimming time for business people! I love it when hotel pool hours are 5am-midnight! Great location and I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. The Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center takes each review as a way to continually improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality.

We have presented your suggestions to Management in the hopes of extending the Fitness Center hours and the pool hours. We do feel that this is a valued added amenity to the business traveler especially after a long day at work.

We invite to you to visit us again when you return to the Ames, Iowa area. Our goal is to achieve a 5 Star rating the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night there while visiting Iowa State with my son. The property seemed relatively new, was very clean and the service was excellent. The rooms were quite spacious and the beds comfortable. I thought the breakfast options were great and prefer menu service to a continental even if I have to pay for it. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center on Trip Advisor.

The hotel strives to deliver 5 Star service and quality to each and every guest every day. While we are disappointed we did not meet this goal with you, we hope to "try" harder the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was pretty disappointed when I found out that they do not offer a free breakfast. I turned down a hotel right across the road because of the reviews it has received. However, if I would have known that Holiday Inn does not offer a FREE breakfast i would have gone to the cheaper one and received the free breakfast with it. Complete Bummer. Will not stay at another holiday inn again..

Room Tip: Does not offer free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Chuck4154,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for your disappointment that we do not offer free breakfast. You may check out our hotel restaurant that offers a variety of food at an affordable price. We also have room rates that comes with breakfast. We assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here on the way to Boone railroad museum. It is a college town and closest big town. The property is off a freeway and easy to find. Easy check in and check-out.
The front staff was very nice. The room was big enough (I think that it is considered suite) for 4 adults and a baby. They had a crib, too. The property has a pool and we were able to get extra towels without problems. We had encountered a hotel that had no towels for number of us. So we were happy about this.
The room has a coffee maker (makes a cup). As always, I ran water at first. It was dirty. I could not get rid of coffee grind in the hot water so I gave up. I would not drink coffee or tea in the room. We were able to get hot water from the hotel staff.
The hotel has a cafe for breakfast and dinner. We got a map for restaurants from the hotel. If you are willing to drive, there are quite few restaurants. The map was pretty accurate and helpful.
Bathroom was not so big. But sink was outside the bathroom. it was convenient for the family. All of us noticed black mold on the shower curtain. The two big spots. it was just disturbing.
In the morning, we used $20 coupon to eat at the cafe. We paid about $10 for four adults food and coffee. Other Holiday Inn we stayed offered breakfast buffet, so this one is different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funisgood2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear funisgood2010,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a long day of driving I needed a quite place to rest. I found and checked in to this hotel. I was very pleased to find a very friendly staff member at the front desk. My room accommodations were very clean, quite, and comfortable. I do highly recommend this hotel for your overnight stay.
Mr. & Mrs. R.T.

Room Tip: If you are on a road trip and need a place to spend the night, this hotel is a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_suaant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. Although it was a business trip . The service and the breakfast is very good. The staff is very accommodating. Early check in is possible. the room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: You can ask for an early check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu

Property: Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Address: 2609 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010-8624 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames Conference Center hotel is close to Iowa State University! Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center ISU is located just off Hwy 30 and 5 miles from I-35. We are two miles from the Iowa State University campus and convenient to the area's biggest attractions. Our hotel is close to many major businesses. The ISU Research Park, IA DOT Headquarters and USDA/NVSL are just a short drive away. The Hilton Coliseum, Stephens Auditorium, Fisher Theater, and Scheman Building are only one mile from our Ames accommodations. Syngenta, 3M and Sauer-Danfoss are also nearby. We offer three meeting rooms with seating for up to 450 guests. We are close to ISU s campus, which makes it easy to visit a student, attend a sporting event or just enjoy the beautiful campus. Our Ames hotel is within a mile of Jack Trice Stadium, Reiman Gardens and Coldwater Golf Links. Leisure travelers will find many attractions near our hotel. Downtown Ames offers dining, shopping and entertainment - it's a great place to spend a day. The Iowa Arboretum and Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad are less than a half-hour away. Guests of our hotel in Ames are sure to enjoy our deluxe amenities. You can dine at our full-service restaurant, the Cardinal Cafe, hold an event in one of our flexible meeting rooms, or simply relax in the indoor pool. Visit the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center - ISU and see what this Ames area hotel has to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing